The Cabinet Reshuffle: Changes extend to the lower ranks

Click to follow
THE Prime Minister also announced a series of movements among Ministers of State and Under-Secretaries of State.

Tim Yeo, the junior health minister, is promoted to Minister of State for the Environment; Jeremy Hanley, Under-Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, is to become Armed Forces minister; Archie Hamilton, the Armed Forces minister, is to leave the Government.

David Heathcoat-Amory, the Deputy Chief Whip, is to become Minister of State at the Foreign Office, replacing Tristan Garel-Jones; the whip Greg Knight is promoted to deputy chief whip and three Ministers of State switch departments; David Maclean from Environment to the Home Office; Michael Jack from the Home Office to Agriculture; and David Curry from Agriculture to Environment.

Edward Leigh resigns as junior trade and industry minister; Kenneth Carlisle resigns as junior transport minister; Robert Jackson resigns as junior public service and science minister.

Ann Widdecombe moves from social services to become junior employment minister; John Bowis becomes junior health minister; Iain Sproat becomes junior national heritage minister.

Michael Ancram becomes junior Northern Ireland minister; David Davis moves from the whips office to become junior public service and science minister; William Hague becomes junior social security minister. Among the other moves are Patrick McLoughlin, who moves from junior employment minister to junior trade and industry minister; and Robert Key, who moves from junior national heritage minister to junior transport minister.