The Ulster Declaration: Chronology

Click to follow
The Independent Online
In 1968 a civil rights movement emerged in Northern Ireland to fight discrimination against Catholics in housing, jobs and electoral rights. More than 3,000 people have died during events since:

October 1968

Londonderry civil rights march broken up by police. Regarded as the start of the troubles

April 1969

Bernadette Devlin, civil rights campaigner, won Mid Ulster by-election

August 1969

British troops arrived in Belfast and Londonderry after seven died in rioting

December 1969

Provisional IRA formed after splitting from the Official IRA

September 1970

Provisional IRA bombing campaign started in Belfast. Two RUC officers killed

February 1971

Gunner Robert Curtis, the first British soldier to die, killed during Belfast rioting

August 1971

Internment without trial introduced. 343 rounded up but IRA leaders escaped

December 1971

15 killed in Loyalist bomb attack on McGurk's bar, Belfast

January 1972

13 men shot dead by British paratroopers in Londonderry on 'Bloody Sunday'

February 1972

Official IRA bombed Parachute Regiment headquarters in Aldershot, Hants, killing seven

March 1972

Direct rule from London replaced the Unionist government in Northern Ireland

November 1973

Unionist, SDLP and Alliance parties agreed to form power-sharing executive in Northern Ireland

December 1973

Sunningdale conference agreed to establish a Council of Ireland with representatives from north and south Ireland

May 1974

Strike by Ulster Workers Council brought down the power-sharing executive led by Brian Faulkner

November 1974

Two bombs in Birmingham pubs killed 21 people following earlier attacks in Woolwich and Guildford

February 1975

IRA declared ceasefire and talked with British civil servants. Ceasefire lasted until the autumn

January 1976

SAS sent to South Armagh after 10 Protestants were murdered by the IRA

August 1976

Peace movement started after three children killed in Belfast. Founders Mairead Corrigan and Betty Williams later awarded Nobel Peace Prize

February 1978

12 killed in IRA fire bomb attack on La Mon House restaurant, near Belfast

March 1979

Airey Neave, Conservative spokesman on Northern Ireland, assassinated by INLA car bomb at the House of Commons

August 1979

Lord Mountbatten and three others killed by IRA bomb in boat off Irish coast. 18 British soldiers died in explosions at Warrenpoint, County Down

April 1981

Bobby Sands, IRA hunger striker in the Maze prison, elected as MP for Fermanagh and South Tyrone. He died in May

October 1981

Hunger strike called off after 10 IRA and INLA members had died

July 1982

11 bandsmen and mounted soldiers killed in separate explosions in Regents park and Hyde Park, London

November 1982

Three unarmed IRA men shot dead by the RUC in the first of three incidents which prompted accusations of a 'shoot to kill' policy

December 1982

17 people, including 11 soldiers, killed in INLA bombing of Droppin' Well disco in County Londonderry

June 1983

Gerry Adams elected as Sinn Fein MP for West Belfast. The party won more than 100,000 votes across Northern Ireland

September 1983

38 Provisional IRA men escaped from the Maze Prison, the biggest escape in British prison history

December 1983

Five people killed and 80 injured by IRA car bomb outside Harrods in London

October 1984

Five killed and 34 injured in IRA attempt to wipe out the Cabinet by bombing the Grand Hotel, Brighton during the Conservative conference

February 1985

Nine RUC officers killed in IRA mortar attack on police station in Newry, County Down

November 1985

Anglo-Irish Agreement signed by British and Irish leaders increasing co-operation between London and Dublin. Loyalists outraged

April 1986

Unionist leaders announced campaign of civil disobedience. Protestants attacked homes of RUC officers

May 1987

Eight IRA men shot dead by the SAS as they attacked Loughgall RUC station, County Armagh

October 1987

French customs seized the cargo slip 'Eksund' carrying 150 tons of Libyan arms and explosives destined for the IRA

November 1987

11 people killed and 63 injured when the IRA bombed the Remembrance Sunday service in Enniskillen

March 1988

Three IRA members shot dead in Gibraltar by the SAS. Three mourners killed at their funeral by Loyalist gunman and two British soldiers murdered at IRA funeral

August 1988

Eight soldiers killed in IRA bombing at Ballygawley, County Tyrone

September 1989

IRA bomb attack on Royal Marines barracks at Deal, Kent kills 11 bandsmen

July 1990

Ian Gow, Conservative MP for Eastbourne, assassinated by IRA car bomb at his Sussex home

March 1991

Peter Brooke, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, announced that formal talks on the political future of the province could go ahead

February 1992

Five Catholics killed in an attack on a Belfast betting shop by the Loyalist UDA

April 1992

The IRA marked the Conservative General Election victory by destroying the Baltic Exchange, London with a bomb killing three people

March 1993

IRA bomb which exploded among shoppers in Warrington, Cheshire, killed two children and caused international revulsion. A peace movement launched in Dublin

April 1993

Massive IRA bomb in Bishopsgate in the City of London killed one man and caused damage worth billions of pounds

John Hulme, leader of the SDLP, and Gerry Adams, president of Sinn Fein, begin talks to try and find a peace formula

October 1993

IRA bomb attack in Belfast killed 10 people and unleashed violence which claimed 24 lives. Seven of these were murdered by Loyalist gunmen in Greysteel, County Londonderry. John Major and Albert Reynolds agreed to launch a fresh attempt to bring peace

(Photographs omitted)