Awards for a Calendar Girl and veterans of rock world

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The rock musicians Eric Clapton and Ray Davies join the actress Joan Plowright, the director Stephen Daldry and the author Philip Pullman among the stars of British arts and entertainment to be honoured.

Plowright, the widow of Sir Laurence Olivier, is appointed a Dame after a career which includes a Tony for her Broadway appearance in A Taste of Honey in 1961 and films including Bringing Down The House.

Clapton, a co-founder of Cream, and Ray Davies, a co-founder of The Kinks, are appointed CBEs. Clapton was created OBE in 1994.

Pullman, the author of theHis Dark Materials trilogy, is appointed CBE, as is Stephen Daldry, the former artistic director of the Royal Court theatre. The performers Roy Hudd and Nicholas Parsons are appointed OBEs, as is Chris Tarrant, the host of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?, for services to charity and broadcasting. Tarrant said: "I do what I do because I love it, but to be recognised for my work both professionally and privately is really humbling."

Penelope Wilton, the film and stage actress, is appointed OBE after a year in which she appeared in the filmCalendar Girls. Virginia McKenna, the actress who starred in the film Born Free and set up the Born Free Foundation, is appointed OBE for services to arts and animal conservation.

The actor Pete Postlethwaite is created OBE. He is best known for films including The Usual Suspects andIn The Name Of The Father. June Mendoza, the portrait painter, Guy Green, the film producer, and the conductor Owain Arwel Hughes are appointed OBE.

Ian Bostridge, the operatic tenor, is created CBE as are James MacMillan, the Scottish composer and conductor, and the cartoonist Ronald Searle. Richard Booth, the founder of the biggest second-hand bookshop in Europe, is created MBE, as is Debbie Wiseman, a composer of music for television.

Fred Dibnah, the steeplejack, is created OBE for services to heritage and broadcasting. He said: "I'm an old-fashioned bloke and it is nice for the old school to get some recognition."

Patrick Leigh Fermor, the travel writer, is knighted, as are Richard Armstrong, the music director of Scottish Opera, and Gerry Robinson, the former chairman of the Arts Council of England. Harold Evans and Simon Jenkins, both former editors of The Times, are also knighted.Patricia Hodgson, the chief executive of the Independent Television Commission until the formation of Ofcom, is appointed a Dame. Jim Brown, the former chairman of the Newsquest Media Group, is created CBE.

Maurice Frankel, the director of the Campaign for Freedom of Information, and Ursula Owen, editor-in-chief of Index on Censorship, are appointed OBEs. Anne Sloman, the former chief political adviser to the BBC is created OBE.

Phillip Bye, a senior ITV cameraman, is created MBE as are Fay Maschler, the restaurant critic, and Stanley McMurtry, the creator of the Mac cartoon in the Daily Mail.