New Year Honours: Knights Bachelor

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Bourne, Clive John, JP, For serv Charity and to Educ. Davies, Prof Robert Rees, CBE, Formerly Chichele Prof of Medieval History, Univ of Oxf. For serv History. Finch, Robert Gerard, Formerly Lord Mayor of London. For serv the City of London. Haines, Prof Andrew Paul, Dean, London School of Hygiene and Tropical edicine. For serv Medicine. Harrison, Prof Brian Howard, Formerly Editor, Oxf Dictionary of National Biography. For serv Scholarship. Jones, Alan Jeffrey, Chair, Toyota Motor Manufacturing (UK) Ltd. For serv the Automotive ind. Jones, Digby Marritt, Dir gen, Confedn of Brit ind. For serv Business. Jones, Roger Spencer, OBE, For serv Business and Training in Wales. Kerslake, Robert Walker, Chief exec, Sheffield City Ccl. For serv Local Govt. Lawton, Prof John Hartley, CBE, FRS, Chief exec, Natural Environmental Research Ccl. For serv Ecological Science. Michael, Dr Jonathan, Chief exec, Guy's and St Thomas's NHS Foundation Trust. For serv the NHS. Ogden, Dr Peter James, Founder of the Ogden Trust. For serv Educ. Pedelty, Mervyn Kay, Formerly Ch exec, Co-operative Financial Services. For serv Business and to Charity. Pinsent, Matthew Clive, CBE, Rower. For serv Sport. Rea, Prof Desmond, OBE, Chair, Northern Ireland Policing Board. For serv the Police. Staite, Richard John, OBE, Headteach, Beeslack commty High School, Penicuik, Midlothian. For serv Educ. Tomlinson, Michael John, CBE, Chair, A Level Standards Inquiry, Working Group on 14-19 Reform and the Learning Trust for Hackney Schools. For serv Educ. Underwood, Prof James Cressee Elphinstone, Presdt, R College of Pathologists and Prof of Pathology, Univ of Sheffield. For serv Medicine. Veness, David, CBE, QPM, Assistant commr, Met Pol Service. For serv the Police. Vickers, John Stuart, Chair and Ch exec, Office of Fair Trading. For publ serv. Wanless, Derek, For publ serv.