Woodhead's list reveals top schools creme de la creme

Click to follow
Chris Woodhead, the Chief Inspector of Schools, yesterday commended the following educational establishments for offering good education. All the 63 secondary schools have received outstanding inspection reports and some have had excellent GCSE results over a number of years. Others are improving in difficult circumstances.

There were inspections in 5,284 schools, 4,077 of primary or nursery schools, 853 of secondary and 354 of special schools. The schools, listed alphabetically, are:

SECONDARY SCHOOLS: Audenshaw High School, Manchester; Bishop Challoner Secondary School, Basingstoke; Brentwood County High School; Caistor Grammar School, Lincs; Cardinal Langley RC High School, Rochdale; Cardinal Newman RC School and Community College, Coventry; Carleton High School, Pontefract; Dene Magna Community School, Dene Magna, Glos; Diss County High School, Norfolk; Dr Challoner's High School, Amersham, Bucks; Egglescliffe School, Stockton-on-Tees; Finchley RC High School, Barnet; Frogmore Community School, Camberley, Hants; Habergham High School, Burnley; Harrow Way Community School, Andover, Hants; Hawkley High School, Wigan; Helenswood School, St Leonard's, East Sussex; Hethersett County High School, Norwich; Highworth Grammar School for Girls, Ashford, Kent; Huish Episcopi School, Langport, Somerset; Humberston Comprehensive School, Grimsby; Huntington School, York; Ivybridge Community College, Ivybridge, Devon; Kennet School, Newbury, Berks; Langley Park School for Girls, Bromley Leasowes High School and Community College, Dudley; Meadowhead School, Sheffield; Newstead Wood School for Girls, Orpington; Ninestiles School, Birmingham.

Oxted County School, Oxted, Surrey; Our Lady and St John School, Blackburn; Ponteland County High School, Newcastle upon Tyne; Preston Community School, Yeovil; Queen's School, Watford; Rainham School for Girls, Gillingham, Kent; Range High School, Sefton; Richard Hale High School, Hertford; Robert May's School, Hook, Hants; Simon Balle School, Hertford; Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys, Canterbury; Sir John Leman High School, Beccles, Suffolk; St Augustine RC Comprehensive School, Trowbridge, Wilts; St Bede's RC High School, Blackburn; St Edmund Arrowsmith RC High School, Wigan; St John's School, Marlborough, Wilts; St Mary's RC High School, Wigan; Stratford-upon-Avon Grammar School for Girls.

Bishop Milner RC School, Dudley; Chase High School, Malvern; The Cornwallis School, Maidstone, Kent; The Hayfield School, Doncaster; The Hertfordshire and Essex High School, Bishop's Stortford; The Kings of Wessex Community School, Cheddar, Somerset; The London Oratory School, Hammersmith and Fulham; The Norton Knatchbull School, Ashford, Kent; The Philip Morant School, Colchester; Tonbridge Grammar School for Girls, Kent; Trinity Catholic High School, Woodford; Tudor Grange School, Solihull; Tuxford Comprehensive, Newark, Notts; Twynham School, Christchurch, Dorset; Tytherington County High School, Macclesfield; Wolverhampton Girls' High School.

PRIMARY SCHOOLS: Askwith County Primary School, Otley, N.Yorks; Banks Lane Junior School, Stockport; Barnby Dun Primary School, Doncaster; Barton Infant and Nursery School, Torquay; Billinghurst Infant School, Billinghurst, W. Sussex; Brewster Avenue Infant School, Peterborough; Broadway East First School, Newcastle upon Tyne; Byley County Primary School, Middlewich; Christchurch Infants School, Ilford; Church End Lower School, Bedford; Chuter Ede Primary School, Newark, Notts; Clifton Infant School, Wakefield; Combe C of E Primary School, Witney, Oxfordshire; Crawley Ridge County Junior School, Camberley, Surrey; Deer Park Primary School, Chesterfield, Derbys; Delamere C of E Primary School, Tarporley, Cheshire; Edenham C of E Primary School, Bourne, Lincs; Engayne Junior School, Epminster; Evelyn Primary School, Prescot, Knowsley; Flintham Primary School, Newark, Notts; Florence Melly Infant School, Liverpool; Frogmore Junior School, Camberley, Hants; Galley Hill Primary School Guisborough, Redcar and Cleveland; Gotherington County Primary School, Cheltenham, Gloucs; Great Crosby RC Primary School, Liverpool; Hornton County Primary School, Banbury, Oxfordshire; Hose C of E Primary School, Melton Mowbray; Ingleton C of E Primary School, Darlington; Keston Infant School, Coulsdon, Croydon; Kingsmoor Junior School, Carlisle; Kings Heath Junior School, Birmingham; Leighterton Primary School, Tetbury; Long Bennington C of E Primary School, Newark; Lower Heath C of E Primary School, Whitchurch, Shropshire; Lydgate Junior School, Sheffield; Lympne C of E Primary School, Hythe, Kent; Marine Park First School, Whitley Bay; Mickleover Primary School, Derby; Montpelier Junior School, Plymouth; Muskham Primary School, Newark, Notts; New Hartley First School, Whitley Bay; North Reddish Infant School, Stockport; Our Lady of Lourdes Primary School, Wanstead; Our Lady of Walsingham Infant School, Bootle; Overchurch Junior School, Wirral;Peak Forest C of E Primary School, Buxton; Pensby Infant School, Wirral; Pinewood Infants' School, Farnborough, Hants; Poulton Lancelyn Primary, Wirral; Reigate Infant, Derby; Riddings Junior School, Alfreton, Derbys; Seaton Delaval First School, Whitley Bay; Silsoe VC Lower School, Bedford; South Osset Infant School, Wakefield; Southam St James C of E Primary School, Leamington Spa; St Bede's RC Primary, Redcar; St Christopher Primary, Coventry; St Ives County First School, Ringwood, Dorset; St John Vianney RC Primary School, Coventry; St Joseph's RC Primary School, Billingham; St Joseph's RC Primary School, Westminster; St Mary's RC Primary School, Newcastle under Lyme; St Rumon's C of E Infants' School Tavistock; St Saviour's C of E Junior School, Westgate on Sea, Kent; Temple Sowerby C of E Primary School, Penrith; Thorndown County Infant School, Huntingdon, Cambs; Thornton-in-Craven Primary School, Skipton, N. Yorks; Torpoint Infants School, Torpoint, Cornwall; Turnfurlong County First School, Aylesbury, Bucks; Valley End C of E Infant School, Working; West Bridgford Junior School, Nottingham; West Down Primary School, Ilfracombe; Whinfield County Infant School, Darlington; Winklebury Infant School, Basingstoke, Hants.

MIDDLE SCHOOLS: Exeter Central C of E Middle School; Farnham Common Middle School, Slough.

NURSERY SCHOOLS: Bognor Regis Nursery School; Clervaux Nursery School, Jarrow; Elston Hall Nursery School, Wolverhampton; Marsh Hill Nursery School, Birmingham; North Islington Nursery School, London; Strong Close Nursery School, Keighley.

SPECIAL SCHOOLS: Abbey School, Rotherham; Dawn House Special School, Mansfield; Heathfield MLD Special School, Heathfield, Hants; Kilton Thorpe School, Cleveland; Lister Lane Special School, Bradford; Longspee School, Poole, Dorset; Marshfields School, Peterborough; Meadowgate School, Lewisham; Orrets Meadow School, Wirral; Pinderfields Hospital School, Wakfeield; St Anthony's School, Margate; The Parks Nursery School, Margate; Wendover House School, Wendover; Woodlands Special School, Blackpool.