Fox News announces presidential candidates for first 2016 GOP debate

The network will air the debate on Thursday night at 9pm

Click to follow
The Independent US

Fox News has announced which Republican presidential hopefuls will participate in the GOP's first primary debate on Thursday.

The conservative news network made the announcement on Tuesday which included: reality television star Donald Trump, former Florida Governor Jeb Bush, Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker, former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, former surgeon Ben Carson, Texas Senator Ted Cruz, Florida Senator Marco Rubio, Kentucky Senator Rand Paul, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie and Ohio Governor John Kasich.


However, former Texas Governor Rick Perry, former US Senator Rick Santorum, Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal and businesswoman Carly Fiorina didn't make the cut and will participate in a secondary debate earlier on Thursday evening.

Fox News anchors Bret Baier, Megyn Kelly and Chris Wallace will moderate the main debate which will broadcast live at 9pm from the Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio.