Eleven British nationals detained by Chinese authorities in Inner Mongolia

It is not immediately clear why the 11 individuals are currently being held

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Eleven British nationals are currently being held by Chinese authorities in Inner Mongolia, an autonomous northern region of China which borders Mongolia.

A spokesperson from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office confirmed to The Independent that nine British nationals, and two dual British-South African nationals, have been detained in northern China. "Consular staff have visited the group to provide assistance, and we are liaising with Chinese authorities," a spokesperson said in a statement this afternoon.

It still remains unclear why the eleven British nationals are being held by Chinese officials.

This article will be updated as more information becomes available