Russia: Parties and blocs competing in poll

Click to follow
THE following 13 parties and electoral blocs are taking part in next Sunday's Russian parliamentary elections. Their main leaders are noted in brackets.

Liberal and reformist: Russia's Choice (Yegor Gaidar), Yavlinsky- Boldyrev-Lukin bloc (Grigory Yavlinsky), Party of Russian Unity and Concord (Sergei Shakhrai), Russian Movement for Democratic Reforms (Anatoly Sobchak).

Centrist: Democratic Party of Russia (Nikolai Travkin), Civic Union (Arkady Volsky), Future of Russia-New Names (Vyacheslav Laschevsky).

Corporatist: Constructive Ecological Movement of Russia (Lyubov Lymar), Women of Russia (Alvetina Fedulova), Dignity and Charity (Konstantin Frolov).

Communist and nationalist: Communist Party of Russian Federation (Gennady Zyuganov), Agrarian Party (Mikhail Lapshin), Liberal Democratic Party (Vladimir Zhirinovsky).

(Photographs omitted)