Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Rev Edwin Carden, non-stipendiary minister/community worker, All Saints, Poplar (London): to be Chaplain to Wandsworth Mental Health Unit (Southwark).

The Rev Dennis Leigh, Assistant Priest, Aylestone Park Ecumenical Church of the Nativity: to be Assistant Priest, Aylestone St Andrew, Leicester.

The Rev Stuart Lord, Assistant Curate, Otley: to be Priest-in-charge, St Mark's, Low Moor (Bradford).

The Rev Peter Micklethwaite, Assistant Curate, Leatherhead: to be Assistant Curate, Wisley and Pyrford (Guildford).

The Rev Nicholas Pedley, Assistant Curate, Stafford St John the Baptist, Lichfield: to be Resident Minister, Kingswinford, Church of the Ascension (Lichfield).

The Rev Andrew Procter, Vicar, St Barnabas, Heaton (Bradford); to be Vicar, St Paul, Swanley with St Peter, Hextable (Rochester).

The Rev David Shaw, Assistant Curate, St Giles, Sheldon: to be Team Rector, St Andrew, Chelmsley Wood (Birmingham).

The Rev Linda Woolhouse, non-stipendiary minister, Oldswinford: to be Parish Deacon, Oldswinford (Worcester).


The Rev Norman Bedford, Vicar, Dedham, and Lecturer (Chelmsford): to retire as from 30 October.

The Rev Richard Biggerstaff, Curate, Brighton the Resurrection (Chichester): now resigned.

The Rev David Chaning-Pearce, Vicar, Midhurst, and Rector, Woolbeding (Chichester): to retire as from 1 September.

The Rev John Elson, Vicar, Fletching and Chaplain, Wivelsfield Green St Peter and St James Hospice (Chichester): to retire as from 15 September.

The Rev Peter Gamester, Rector, Bexhill, St Mark (Chkhener): to retire as from 30 September.

The Rev David Grigor, Chaplain, Warminster School (Salisbury): to resign as from 31 August.

The Rev John Growns, Priest-in-Charge, Westmill, and Diocesan Stewardship Adviser (St Albans): to retire as from 31 July.

The Rev Frank Hicks, Vicar, Portland St John the Baptist (Salisbury): to retire as from 30 November.

The Rev Peter Hooper, Rector, Yetminster with Ryme Intrinseca and High Stoy (Salisbury): to retire as from 31 October.

Canon Ernest Orland, Vicar, All Saints, Peterborough (Peterborough): to retire as from 30 November.

The Rev John Robinson, Vicar, Compton, the Mardens, Stoughton and Racton, and Vicar, Stansted (and Forestside) (Chichester): to retire as from 30 September.

Canon Alan Spray, Vicar, Burgess Hill, St Andrew (Chichester): to retire as from 30 September.

The Rev Richard Sweet-Escott, Vicar, Crawley Down (Chichester): to retire as from 1 October.