Agassi pays the price

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Andre Agassi, who was defaulted from the RCA Championships tournament in Indiana- polis on Wednesday, has been fined ($6,000) pounds 4,000.

In addition to the fine, Agassi will not receive any prize-money, which would have amounted to $6,040, nor any ATP Tour points for the event, which will remain a part of his ranking for the next 52 weeks. His no- point showing cannot be erased for the next year from the best-of-14 system in place on the tour.

The Olympic champion was defaulted in a second-round match against the Canadian Daniel Nestor for swearing at the umpire, Dana Laconto. The decision was taken by the ATP Tour supervisor, Mark Darby, though Agassi, the No 3 seed and world No 6, claimed he should not have been immediately disqualified but given a penalty point first.

Despite his disqualification Agassi will return to play in the event next year.