All change in eventing world

Click to follow
Widespread changes in the management of British three-day eventing were announced yesterday, during the annual conference of the Horse Trials Group in London.

Giles Rowsell, chef d'equipe of the young riders' team since 1987, becomes chairman of the senior selection committee. The appointment means that he will also chair the new international committee, which is intended to bring "a more positive approach to the international effort over the next four years."

The appointment of a salaried international manager and director of training, which was rumoured to have taken place, is now to await the decision of Rowsell and other members of the international committee.

There will be no shortage of candidates but, according to Rowsell, no manager will be appointed unless an ideal candidate emerges.

The sport is committed to a fundamental change on 1 January 1997, when the group leaves the umbrella of the British Horse Society. It will then be known as the British Horse Trials Association, with Michael Allen, formerly in charge of finance, succeeding John Tulloch as its chairman.

Reserves of pounds 900,000 will be left behind; they cannot be released because of the British Horse Society's charitable status. There is, nevertheless, great confidence in future finances, which will have an expected turnover of pounds 4m next year.

The Windsor Three-Day Event announced a new sponsorship from Chubb insurance yesterday. Gatcombe Horse Trials and a new three-day event at Sansaw Park should announce details of their sponsors soon.

HORSE TRIALS GROUP AWARDS: Tony Collings Memorial Trophy (leading rider on points) L Law. Calcutta Light Horse Trophy (leading horse) Star Appeal ridden by M King. Edy Goldman Trophy (leading rider under 21): L Wiegersma. Martin Whiteley Trophy (leading rider not entitled to wear Union Jack badge): S Longshaw.