Amokachi freezes out Icelanders

Click to follow
The Independent Online

KR Reykjavik 2 Everton 3

Daniel Amokachi's spectacular solo goal in the 88th minute secured a crucial, if lucky, win for Everton on their return to Europe after a 10-year absence.

Everton made a sensational start to the game when John Ebbrell rattled the crossbar with his first touch in the first team this season after just 30 seconds of this Cup-Winners' Cup first round, first leg.

Andy Hinchcliffe earned a mysterious sixth-minute booking. Anders Limpar took a quick free-kick but the referee, Roger Phillipe, stopped play and showed the yellow card to an incredulous Hinchcliffe.

Everton broke the deadlock after 22 minutes through Ebbrell. Amokachi charged into the heart of the Reykjavik defence and although he was dispossessed, the ball squirted free to Hinchcliffe. His miscue saw the ball bobble across goal for Ebbrell to force home.

David Unsworth gave away a penalty when he unaccountably tripped Heimur Gudjonsson, who was not threatening the goal. Mihajlo Bibercic scored from the spot. A minute before the break Everton had another scare when Southall raced from his goal to kick clear, but the ball rebounded from Gudmundur Benediktsson and bounced a yard wide of the empty goal.

Everton started the second half in a somewhat jittery mood, but after 57 minutes they took the lead with a penalty of their own. Hinchcliffe was tripped by Alofur Adolfsson and Unsworth scored easily.

The third penalty of the game came when the Everton substitute Paul Holmes sent Benediktsson sprawling. Bibercic again sent Southall the wrong way to equalise.

Joe Royle, the Everton manager, said: "I suppose I should be pleased with the result, but at times we were naive defensively and very inconsistent. Dave Watson apart, we were nowhere near defensively. But on the bright side, we scored three away goals and have a lead for the second leg. We still made enough chances to win three matches."

KR Reykjavik: Finnbogason; Adolfsson, Dervic, Egilsson, Jonsson, Porca, Bjornsson, Danielsson, Bibercic, Gudjonsson, Benediktsson.

Everton: Southall; Jackson, Ablett, Unsworth, Watson, Hinchcliffe, Amokachi, Parkinson, Rideout, Ebbrell, Limpar.

Referee: R Phillipe (Luxembourg).