Athletics: Confident Edwards eyes Valencia gold

Click to follow
The Independent Online
JONATHAN EDWARDS, who broke the UK indoor triple jump record on Sunday with a distance of 17.64 metres at the BUPA Grand Prix in Birmingham, will lead Great Britain at the European Indoor Championships in Valencia, Spain, next week. The Olympic silver medallist was named in Britain's 33-member team yesterday.

"Naturally my major ambition is to win the gold medal," Edwards said. "The way I have been performing, despite suffering the odd injury and flu these last few weeks, makes me believe I can do it. Major championships with their tension and atmosphere always fetch the best out of me."

Other medal hopefuls are Julian Golding in the 200m, Solomon Wariso in the 400m, Tony Jarrett (60m hurdles) and the triple jumper Ashia Hansen, who also set a British record - 14.85m - in Birmingham.

Darren Braithwaite, Dwain Chambers and Jason Gardener will compete in the 60m.

Denise Lewis has been selected for the long jump, but the Olympic heptathlon bronze medallist has yet to decide if she will join the team.

Janine Whitlock, who holds the British indoor record in the pole vault (4.21m), is also heading for Spain.

GREAT BRITAIN TEAM (European Indoor Championships, Valencia, Sp): MEN: 60 metres: D Braithwaite (Haringey), D Chambers (Belgrave), J Gardener (Wessex & Bath); 200m: J Golding (Blackheath), A Condon (Sale), D Turner (Cardiff); 400m: S Wariso (Haringey), S Baldock (Belgrave), P Slythe (GEC Avionics); 3,000m: J Mayock (Cannock & Staffs), I Gillespie (Birchfield). 60m hurdles: A Jarrett (Haringey), A Tulloch (Belgrave), D Greaves (Newham & EB); High jump: B Challenger (Belgrave); Triple jump: J Golley (Thames Valley), F Agyepong (Shaftesbury Barnet), J Edwards (Gateshead); Pole vault: N Buckfield (Crawley). Shot putt: S Pickering (Haringey), M Proctor (RAF). WOMEN: 200m: J Maduaka (Essex Ladies); D Fraser (Croydon); 800m: H Parry (Swansea); 60m hurdles: D Allahgreen (Liverpool); High jump: S Jones (Wigan), D Marti (Bromley), M Dunkley (Essex Ladies); Long jump: D Lewis (Birchfied); Triple jump: A Hansen; Pole vault: J Whitlock (Trafford), R Clarke (Essex Ladies); Shot putt: J Oakes (Croydon).