Click to follow
The Independent Online

The former Scotland goalkeeper Campbell Money has been appointed player- manager of Stranraer. Money, currently St Mirren's player-coach, replaces Alex McAnespie.

The Endsleigh League has followed the Premier League by moving the season's final programme of First Division fixtures to Sunday 5 May (3pm kick-offs).

INTERNATIONAL FRIENDLY (Sao Jose do rio preto, Brazil): Brazil Olympic team 8 (Ze Maria 16, Savio pen 44, Andre Luis pen 53, Marques 56, 90, Rivaldo 79, Alexandre Lopez 88, Luizao 89) Ghana 2 (Tony Yeboah 48, Duah 83).

TRANSFERS: George Sharples Ayr United to York (pounds 75,000); Paul Mitchell (defender) West Ham to Bournemouth (no fee); Jonathan Sunderland Blackpool to Scarborough (no fee).

LOAN TRANSFERS: Derek Allan (defender) Southampton to Brighton; Craig Armstrong (defender) Nottm Forest to Bristol Rovers; Lee Ashcroft (forward) West Brom to Notts County; Charlie Bishop (defender) Barnsley to Burnley; Kenny Brown (defender) West Ham to Crystal Palace; Peter Butler (midfielder) Notts County to West Brom; Wayne Fairclough (defender) Chesterfield to Scarborough; Mark Flatts (midfielder) Arsenal to Grimsby; Ian Hathaway (midfielder) Torquay to Chesterfield; Mustafa Izzet (midfielder) Chelsea to Leicester; Marc Joseph Cambridge to Coventry; John Kay (defender) Sunderland to Shrewsbury; Paul Mahorn (forward) Tottenham to Burnley; David McDougald (forward) Brighton to Chesterfield; Paul Mitchell (defender) West Ham to Bournemouth; Carl Muggleton (goalkeeper) Stoke to Sheffield; Scott McGleish (forward) Peterborough to Colchester; Ezekiel Rowe (midfielder) Chelsea to Brighton; Gary Simpson (defender) Luton to Fulham; Andrew Turner (midfielder) Tottenham to Southend; Paul Wilkinson (forward) Middlesborough to Luton; Paul A Williams (forward) Rochdale to Doncaster; Paul A Williams Charlton to Torquay.

SPANISH LEAGUE: Athletic Bilbao 0 Compostela 0; Valencia 2 Salamanca 0; Barcelona 2 Tenerife 2; Real Betis 2 Albacete 3; Real Madrid 1 Racing Santander 2; Rayo Vallecano 0 Atletico Madrid 3; Zaragoza 1 Sporting Gijon 1; Merida 3 Sevilla 2; Valladolid 0 Espanol 0; Deportivo La Coruna 2 Celta Vigo 1; Oviedo 0 Real Sociedad 0. Leading positions: 1 Atletico Madrid (P33, Pts72); 2 Barcelona (33-64); 3 Valencia (33-64)