Click to follow
Pakistan yesterday named two uncapped players for the first Test against Sri Lanka, beginning in Peshawar today: Ijaz Ahmad Junior, a 26- year-old batsman from Faisalabad, chosen after scoring 1,573 runs, including seven centuries, in domestic competition last season, and Saqlian Mushtaq, a 19-year-old off-spinner from Lahore.

TOURS TO ENGLAND IN 1996: India: 5 May: Lavinia, Duchess of Norfolk's XI (Arundel); 6: NCA (vtbc); 8-10: Worcestershire (Worcester); 11-13: Gloucestershire (Bristol); 16-18: Sussex (Hove); 19: Middlesex (Lord's ); 21: Northamptonshire (Northampton); 23: First Texaco Trophy (The Oval); 25: Second Texaco Trophy (Headingley); 26: Third Texaco Trophy (Old Trafford); 28-30: Essex (Chelmsford or Glamorgan) or Somerset (Taunton) depending on Benson and Hedges Cup quarter-finals; 1-3 June: Leicestershire (Leicester); 6-10: FIRST CORNHILL TEST (Edgbaston); 13-16: Derbyshire (Derby); 20-24: SECOND CORNHILL TEST (Lord's); 26-28: British Universities (Cambridge); 29 June-1 July: Hampshire (Southampton); 4-9 July: THIRD CORNHILL TEST (Trent Bridge).

Pakistan: 27 June: England NCA (venue tbc); 29 June-1 July: Glamorgan (vtbc); 30 June-5 July: Somerset (Taunton); 6-8: Northamptonshire (Northampton); 11: Minor Counties XI (vtbc); 14: Non-First Class Team tbc; 17-19: Warwickshire (Edgbaston); 20-22: Kent (Canterbury); 25-29: FIRST CORNHILL TEST (Lord's); 1 August: Scotland (vtbc); 3-5: Durham (Chester-le-Street); 8-12: SECOND CORNHILL TEST (Headingley); 14-16: Leicestershire (Leicester) or Sussex (Hove) depending on outcome of NatWest Trophy second round. 17-19: Essex (Chelmsford); 22-26: THIRD CORNHILL TEST (The Oval); 29: First Texaco Trophy (Old Trafford); 31: Second Texaco Trophy (Edgbaston); 1 September: Third Texaco Trophy (Trent Bridge).

South Africa A: 3-5 July: Yorkshire (Headingley); 6-8: Derbyshire (venue tbc); 10-12: MCC (venue tbc); 14: Non-first class team tbc; 17- 19: Glamorgan (venue tbc); 20-22: Somerset (Taunton); 24: Gloucestershire (Cheltenham); 26-29: Nottinghamshire (Trent Bridge); 1-4 August: Surrey (The Oval); 6: Essex (Chelmsford); 9-12: Worcestershire (Worcester); 15-18: TCCB XI (Chester-le-Street).