Cricket: Australia leave out Healy

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Australia 400 and 138-2 dec; New Zealand 251-6 dec and 223-9

Match drawn

Ian Healy, the world record-holder for dismissals by a wicket-keeper in one-day internationals, was surprisingly dropped yesterday from the Australian one-day side.

Opting for an injection of youth and a more specialised limited-over team, the selectors dropped five of the current Test 12 including captain Mark Taylor, as expected.

"What they're saying is `We're making a real genuine break. There's going to be two different teams from now on'." Taylor said. "This year is going to be a real test year as to how well it's going to go. It's a case of suck it and see," he said.

The selectors had signalled the change in strategy earlier this year after a series of poor one-day performances at home and abroad, despite Australia's status as unofficial world Test champions.

Healy, a veteran of 168 one-day matches and 97 Tests, said he was disappointed and remained available for his country as both a one-day and Test player.

He was replaced by Western Australian wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist, who made an accomplished debut in South Africa earlier this year.

With 235 dismissals in one-day internationals, including 194 catches and 39 stumpings, Healy is widely regarded as the best current Test wicketkeeper.

New Zealand tail-end batsmen Simon Doull and Shayne O'Connor defied all that Australian maestro Shane Warne could hurl at them to ensure a draw in the third Test yesterday in Hobart.

The two fast bowlers endured the longest 38 minutes of their cricketing lives as they put together an unbroken stand of 38 minutes for the last wicket, surviving 10.4 overs of Warne's vicious leg-spinners and increasingly hostile bowling from Paul Reiffel.

New Zealand were 223 for 9 at close on the fifth day as they denied what had seemed certain to be a third Australian victory in the series.

Australian captain Mark Taylor had earlier declared at 138 for 2 to set New Zealand the target of 288 runs from a minimum 60 overs for an unlikely victory.

(Final day; Australian won toss)

AUSTRALIA - First Innings 400 (M T Elliott 114, G S Blewett 99, M E Waugh 81)

NEW ZEALAND - First Innings 251 for 6 dec (M J Horne 133).

AUSTRALIA - Second Innings

(Overnight: 14 for 0)

*M Taylor not out 66

M Waugh lbw b O'Connor 9

G Blewett b Vettori 56

S Waugh not out 2

Extras (b4, lb1) 5

Total (for 2 dec) 138

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-106.

Bowling: Simon Doull 8-1-28-0, Shayne O'Connor 9-1-32-1, Daniel Vettori 14-1-48-1, Nathan Astle 7-0-25-0.

NEW ZEALAND - Second Innings

M Horne lbw b Reiffel 31

N Astle c Ponting b Reiffel 40

C Cairns st Healy b Warne 18

*S Fleming st Healy b Warne 0

C McMillan c Taylor b Warne 41

B Young c Ponting b Warne 10

A Parore c Elliott b Warne 41

R Twose run out 29

D Vettori c Healy b S Waugh 3

S Doull not out 1

S O'Connor not out 0

Extras (b2, lb7) 9

Total (for 9) 223

Fall of wickets: 1-72, 2-93, 3-93, 4-95, 5-137, 6-152, 7-218, 8-221, 9-222.

Bowling: Kasprowicz 3-0-33-0; Reiffel 14-2-47-2; Warne 28-6-88-5; M Waugh 6-1-19-0; Cook 4-0-17-0; S Waugh 6-4-10-1.

Man-of-the-match: Greg Blewett (Australia)

Umpires: Steve Davis (Australia) and Russell Tiffin (Zimbabwe). TV umpire: Steve Randell.

Match referee: Cammie Smith (West Indies).

First test in Brisbane: Australia won by 186 runs. Second test in Perth: Australia won by an innings and 70 runs. (Australia won the series 2-0).

AUSTRALIA ONE-DAY SQUAD (for Tri Series v South Africa and New Zealand): *S Waugh, S Warne, M Bevan, A Bichel, G Blewett, A Dale, M Di Venuto, A Gilchrist, I Harvey, G McGrath, R Ponting, P Reiffel, M Waugh.