Cricket: Indian scorers dispute century

Click to follow
The Independent Online
OFFICIALS AND scorers were at loggerheads yesterday in Gwalior, India, over whether or not the Pakistan batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq scored a century in the first innings of his side's drawn three-day match against India A.

Pakistan's captain, Wasim Akram, declared the first innings at a total of 334 for 6 on Saturday, and the scorers logged Inzamam's score at 98 not out. Pakistani officials later said Wasim had declared because the stadium scoreboards showed his individual total at 100.

Pakistan's manager, Shahryar Khan, said that the Indian officials had agreed to correct what he said was a communication gap, saying Inzamam had indeed completed his century. But the scorers stuck to their guns. "We have not changed anything. We have spoken to the umpires as well. If there is anything between Pakistan and the board, it is between them," scorer Sunil Gupta said.

Pakistan's coach, Javed Miandad, gave reporters an "unofficial" scoresheet that showed Yousuf Youhanna's first innings score as 122, two runs less than the 124 given by the scorers. The two runs were found instead on Inzamam's total. A spokesman for the Board of Control for Cricket in India said a decision would be taken later on whether there was an anamoly in the score.

Inzamam narrowly missed a century in the second innings when he was bowled by the paceman Laxmi Ratan Shukla after he had scored 96.

Salim Malik and Inzamam saved Pakistan from potential problems. Salim struck 122 to lift his team from 23 for 5 to a total of 272 all out, boosting a 58-run first innings advantage to 330.

Pakistan's bowlers then restored control as India A stuttered to 111 for 5 before the close. Pakistan's five main bowlers took one wicket each, but Waqar Younis, punished in the first innings, conceded 40 in eight overs.

Comments