Cricket: Indians wrap up series

India 237 & 400-7 dec South Africa 177 & 180 India win by 280 runs
Click to follow
The Independent Online
India wrapped up the third and final Test in Kanpur yesterday to complete their first series victory over South Africa.

India completed a 280-run victory on the final day of the final Test, dismissing South Africa for 180 as the tourists pursued an improbable target of 461 to win. The Indians are thus in good heart for their seven- week tour of South Africa which begins on Thursday, and features a triangular limited-over series with the host country and Zimbabwe.

Any lingering doubts about the outcome on the last day vanished when South Africa, resuming on 127 for 5, lost three early wickets, including the overnight batsmen Brian McMillan and Dave Richardson, who did not add to their scores. The left-arm spinner Sunil Joshi, who finished with 3 for 66, had McMillan brilliantly caught by the substitute Vangipurappu Laxman for 18 from the fourth ball of the morning, then Javagal Srinath trapped Richardson leg before for five.

Pat Symcox struck Anil Kumble for a six over mid-off before giving Joshi a return catch after making 11. Venkatesh Prasad bowled Fanie de Villiers for two and Srinath had Paul Adams caught by Azharuddin in the slips for one to end the innings seven balls after lunch.

Final day; India won toss

INDIA - First Innings 237 (S R Tendulkar 61, W V Raman 57; P R Adams 6-55).

SOUTH AFRICA - First Innings 177 (A Kumble 4-71, J Srinath 3-42).

INDIA - Second Innings 400 for 7 dec (M Azharuddin 163no, R S Dravid 56).

SOUTH AFRICA - Second Innings

(Overnight: 127 for 5)

B M McMillan c sub (Laxman) b Joshi 18

D J Richardson lbw b Srinath 5

L Klusener not out 34

P L Symcox c and b Joshi 11

P S de Villiers b Prasad 2

P R Adams c Azharuddin b Srinath 1

Extras (lb14) 14

Total (96.1 overs) 180

Fall (cont): 6-127 7-138 8-167 9-179.

Bowling: Srinath 19.1-6-38-3; Prasad 11-5-25-2; Kumble 24-11-27-1; Kapoor 13-8-10-0; Joshi 29-9-66-3.

Umpires: S Venkataraghavan (Ind) and D R Shepherd (Eng).