Cricket: Kent appoint John Wright as coach and cricket manager

Click to follow
Kent have named the former New Zealand captain John Wright as their new coach and cricket manager.

Michael Slater will replace his Australian team-mate Michael Bevan as Yorkshire's overseas player this season.

SHEFFIELD SHIELD (Final day of four): Adelaide: South Australia 216 and 449 for 9 dec; Victoria 241 (I Harvey 73) and 263. South Australia won by 161 runs. Hobart: Tasmania 408 and 263 for 9 dec; Queensland 283 and 198 for 4. Match drawn.

SUPERSPORT SERIES: Cape Town: Western Province 433 for 3 dec and 222; Natal 359 and 55 for 1. Match abandoned as a draw (rain). Bloemfontein: Free State 178 and 275; Eastern Province 198 and 181. Free State won by 74 runs. Centurion: Transvaal 201 for 6 dec and 71 for 1; Northern Transvaal 164. Match abandoned as a draw (rain).

NEW ZEALAND SQUAD (for second Test v Sri Lanka, Hamilton, starting Friday): S P Fleming (capt), B A Pocock, B A Young, M J Horne, N J Astle, C L Cairns, A C Parore, D L Vettori, D N Patel, H T Davis, S B Doull, A J Penn, G R Larsen.