Cricket: Kent start for S Africa

Click to follow
The Independent Online
SOUTH AFRICA will play first-class cricket in Britain for the first time in 29 years when they face Kent at Canterbury on 25 June next year.

The touring party are due to arrive in London on 19 June, and will share the summer's internationals with New Zealand, both sides playing three Tests and two one-day internationals against England.

The South Africans, who last toured England in 1965 when they won a three-Test series 1-0, will play Tests at Lord's, Headingley and The Oval, while New Zealand's Tests will be in June and July at Trent Bridge, Lord's and Old Trafford.


NEW ZEALAND: 24 April: Arrive. 29: England Amateur XI (venue to be arranged). 1 May: Duchess of Norfolk's XI (Arundel). 2: Surrey (The Oval). 4-6: Worcestershire (Worcester). 7-9: Somerset (Taunton). 12- 14: Middlesex (Lord's). 16: Northamptonshire (Northampton). 19: FIRST TEXACO TROPHY INTERNATIONAL (Edgbaston). 21: SECOND TEXACO TROPHY INTERNATIONAL (Lord's). 24-26: * Hampshire (Southampton) or Yorkshire (Headingley). 28-30: Essex (Chelmsford). 2-6 June: FIRST CORNHILL TEST (Trent Bridge). 8-10: * Warwickshire (Edgbaston), Glamorgan (TBA) or Surrey (The Oval). 11-13: Gloucestershire (Bristol). 16-20: SECOND CORNHILL TEST (Lord's). 22-24: Combined Universities (Fenner's). 25-27: Derbyshire (Derby). 30 June-5 July (rest day 3 July): THIRD CORNHILL TEST (Old Trafford). 8: Ireland (TBA). 10: Ireland (Dublin).

* =Depending on outcome of Benson and Hedges Cup matches.

SOUTH AFRICA: 19 June: Arrive. 23: Earl of Carnarvon's XI (Highclere). 25-27: Kent (Canterbury). 29 June-1 July: Sussex (Hove). 2-4: Hampshire (Southampton). 6- 8: * Gloucestershire (Bristol) or Derbyshire (Derby). 10: Scotland (TBA). 12-14: Durham (TBA). 16-18: Northamptonshire (Northampton). 21-25: FIRST CORNHILL TEST (Lord's). 27-29: * Nottinghamshire (Trent Bridge), Lancashire (Old Trafford) or Worcestershire (Worcester). 30 July-1 August: Leicestershire (Leicester). 4-8: SECOND CORNHILL TEST (Headingley). 10-12: Minor Counties XI (TBA). 13-15: Glamorgan (TBA). 18-22: THIRD CORNHILL TEST (The Oval). 25: FIRST TEXACO TROPHY INTERNATIONAL (Edgbaston). 27: SECOND TEXACO TROPHY INTERNATIONAL (Old Trafford).

* =Depending on outcome of NatWest Trophy matches.