Cricket: Kenya beaten on the last ball

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Bangladesh survived a nail-biting finish to beat Kenya by two wickets and win the International Cricket Council trophy World Cup qualifying tournament in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

Set a revised target of 166 in 25 overs owing to stoppages caused by rain, Bangladesh hit 11 runs, including a six by Khaled Masud, in the last over to win off the last ball.

Gazi Ashraf, the Bangladesh manager, was ecstatic with the win. "It was a tremendous team effort. Everyone played his part. And God was kind to us," he said. By contrast, the Kenyan manager, Jasmer Singh, was too disappointed to make a statement.

Rain caused the final to be played over two days and Kenya had looked well placed after scoring 241 for 7 in their 50 overs on Saturday with Steve Tikolo making 147.

With further overnight rain delaying the start until mid-afternoon, Bangladesh still faced a tough target from the revised total. It was made even tougher when they lost their first wicket to the first ball of the innings.

But Bangladesh steadily made inroads on the target and were boosted by Aminul Islam, 37 from 37 balls, and Mohammed Rafique's 26 from just 15 deliveries.

With Bangladesh roared on by some 3,000 of their own nationals who work in Malaysia, they gained victory with a leg bye off the final ball.

The left-arm spinner Asif Karim took three wickets but his four overs cost 31 runs. The Kenyan captain, Maurice Odumbe, took 2 for 18 off three overs. The man of the match award went to Tikolo for his superb 147 for Kenya.


A Karim b Khan 0

S Gupta c and b Sujan 16

K Obuya lbw Khan 2

S Tikolo c Khan b Sujan 147

M Odumbe st Mashud b Rafique 43

T Odoyo b Rafique 1

H Modi not out 12

A Ondik st Mashud b Rafique 1

Extras 19

Total (for 7, 50 overs). 241

Fall of wickets: 1-0 2-15 3-58 4-196 5-212 6-230 7-241

Did not bat: L Tikolo, M Suji, l Patel.

Bowling: Mohammed Saiful Islam Khan 9-0-39-2; Mohammed Hasibul Hussain 6-0-15-0; Athar Ali Khan 5-0-22-0; Mohammed Khaled M Sujan 7-1-31-2; Enamul Hoque Moni 10-0-41-0; A.M.Naimur Rahman 4-0-21-0; Mohammed Rafique 6-1- 40-3; Mohammed Akram Khan 3-0-22-0.


A M Naimur Rahman b Suji 0

Mohammed Rafique c Odumbe b Ondik 26

Minhajul Nannu c Patel b Odoyo 26

Mohammed Aminul Islam b Karim 37

Mohammed Akram Khan c Odoyo b Odumbe 22

Enamul Hoque Moni c Gupta b Karim 5

Mohammed Saiful Islam Khan

c Odumbe b Karim 14

Mohammed Khaled Mashud not out 15

Mohammed Khaled M Sujan st

Obuya b Odumbe 5

Mohammed Hasibul not out 4

Extras 12

Total (for 8, 25 overs) 166

Fall of wickets: 1-0 2-50 3-63 4-116 5-118 6-123 7-139 8-151.

Did not bat: Athar A Khan

Bowling: Suji 4-0-28-1; Tikolo 4-0-29-0; Odoyo 5-0-27-1; Ondik 5-0- 26-1; Karim 4-0-31-3; Odumbe 3-0-18-2.

(Bowling figures incomplete; correct numbers not available from organisers)