Cricket: Kumble's haul has Kiwis on defensive

India 583-7 dec and 148-5 dec New Zealand 308 and 21-0
Click to follow
The Independent Online
SET A MASSIVE victory target of 424, New Zealand's openers survived a testing final 13 overs here yesterday on the fourth day of the final Test against India.

Earlier, Sachin Tendulkar, the Indian captain, decided against making the Kiwis follow-on despite having a 275-run lead after the first innings. Resuming at 211 for 6, New Zealand were all out for 308, Anil Kumble taking 5 for 82 to add to his match-winning 10 for 134 in the second Test at Kanpur.

With a testing tour of Australia ahead, Tendulkar decided to give his bowlers relief from the sun and a lifeless wicket by deciding to bat again. India, in search of quick runs, lost five second innings before declaring on 148 for 5.

Matthew Horne and Gary Stead saw out the remainder of play but New Zealand face a long final day today. India lead the three-match series 1-0, having won the Kanpur Test by eight wickets.

NEW ZEALAND - First Innings

(Overnight: 211 for 6)

N J Astle c Ganguly b Prasad 74

C L Cairns b Kumble 72

C Z Harris c Ramesh b Srinath 12

D J Nash not out 14

P J Wiseman lbw b Singh 3

Extras (8b, 14lb, 13nb) 35

Total (141.4 overs) 308

Fall: 7-231 8-284 9-294.

Bowling: Srinath 35-11-72-2; Prasad 26-9-52-2; Kumble 48-21-82-5; Singh 30.4-8-78-1; Ganguly 2-1-2-0.

INDIA - Second Innings

S Ramesh c Parore b Nash 16

*S R Tendulkar b Cairns 15

R Dravid run out 12

S C Ganguly b Harris 53

M S K Prasad c Parore b Astle 17

J Srinath not out 19

A Jadeja not out 12

Extras (4lb) 4

Total (for 5 dec, 32 overs) 148

Fall: 1-21 2-35 3-68 4-114 5-122.

Did not bat: A Kumble, D J Gandhi, B K V Prasad, Harbhajan Singh.

Bowling: Cairns 6-1-29-1; Nash 8-0-35-1; Vettori 2-0-23-0; Harris 11- 0-44-1; Astle 5-0-13-1.

NEW ZEALAND - Second Innings

M J Horne not out 10

G R Stead not out 10

Extras (1lb) 1

Total (for 0, 13 overs) 21

To bat: D L Vettori, C M Spearman, *S P Fleming, N J Astle, A C Parore, C L Cairns, C Z Harris, D J Nash, P J Wiseman.

Bowling: Srinath 3-2-4-0; Prasad 4-0-12-0; Kumble 4-3-2-0; Singh 1-0- 2-0; Tendulkar 1-1-0-0.

Umpires: R E Koertzen (SA) and V K Ramaswamy (India).