Cricket: Play interrupted by spectators

Click to follow
India 223 and 172-7 South Africa 244

South Africa briefly walked off the field on the third day of the first Test in Ahmedabad yesterday after a section of the 25,000 crowd pelted them with stones.

Allan Donald and Paul Adams were targeted by spectators after they gave a torrid time to the home side who ended the day in disarray on 172 for 7 in their second innings, a lead of 151.

The stone-throwing started 40 minutes before the close of play and South Africa were off the field for 10 minutes before they reappeared after Indian officials succeeded in pacifying the spectators.

Before the interruption Donald dismissed both Indian openers, Sanjay Manjrekar and Nayan Mongia, and with Brian McMillan picking up the prize wicket of Sachin Tendulkar, India were 38 for 3, only 17 runs ahead.

Mohammad Azharuddin and Rahul Dravid put together a fourth-wicket partnership of 44, but Azharuddin went fishing outside his off-stump for McMillan to pull off a brilliant slip catch while Mongia was caught behind.

Third day; India won toss

INDIA - First innings 223 (A A Donald 4-37).

SOUTH AFRICA -First Innings

(Overnight: 202 for 8)

P S de Villiers not out 67

A A Donald b Srinath 17

P R Adams c Azharuddin b Srinath 1

Extras (b7, lb9, nb1) 17

Total (98.1 overs) 244

Fall (cont): 9-242.

Bowling: Srinath 19.1-7-47-2 (1nb), Prasad 9-2-24-0, Kumble 31-6-76- 2, Joshi 24-4-43-4, Hirwani 15-3-38-2.

INDIA -Second Innings

S V Manjrekar c Hudson b Donald 5

N R Mongia c Richardson b Donald 5

R S Dravid lbw Symcox 34

S R Tendulkar c Rhodes b McMillan 7

M Azharuddin c McMillan b Donald 24

V V S Laxman not out 50

S Joshi c McMillan b Symcox 13

J Srinath lbw De Villiers 1

A Kumble not out 22

Extras (b4, lb4, nb3) 11

Total (for 7, 74 overs) 172

Fall: 1-10, 2-15, 3-38, 4-82, 5-91, 6-123, 7-124.

To bat: B K V Prasad, N D Hirwani.

Bowling: Donald 15-3-32-3 (nb2); De Villiers 17-4-45-1; McMillan 9-4- 18-1; Symcox 19-2-37-2; Adams 7-3-22-0 (nb1); Cronje 7-2-10-0.

Umpires: K Bansal (Ind) and G Sharp (Eng).