Cricket: Solanki's style caps solid start

England A 192 for 3 v Bangladesh
Click to follow
ENGLAND A put themselves on course for a solid first-innings total as they reached 192 for 3 after a rain-affected first day in their four- day match against Bangladesh here yesterday.

On a wicket that looked to hold few terrors against seam bowlers, Mark Alleyne, the England captain, had no hesitation in deciding to bat after winning the toss and the openers Ian Ward and David Sales were quickly on the offensive.

Ward, the Surrey left-hander, just looked to be hitting full stride when he was out for 19, edging a Hasibul Hussain delivery to the wicketkeeper Khaled Mashud. That brought the in-form Vikram Solanki to the crease and he was quick to make an impact, reaching 36 before being dropped by Enamul Hoque.

After play was delayed after lunch because of rain, Sales went on to reach his half-century in great style with a six and appeared set for his first large score of the tour, only to clip a ball from Habibul Bashar straight to deep mid-wicket. Solanki joined Sales in reaching 50 but had made only five more when he glanced a ball from Habibul down leg where Khaled moved smartly to take the catch.

Alleyne and Leicestershire's Aftab Habib then played out the rest of the day, albeit with the spin of Enamul proving difficult to score against. His 29 overs cost just 34 runs but, with Alleyne and Habib unbeaten on 26 and 18 respectively, England A will be looking to post a big total on the second day.

First day of four; England A won toss

ENGLAND A - First Innings

I J Ward c Mashud b Hasibul 19

D J G Sales c Sub b Habibul 63

V S Solanki c Mashud b Habibul 55

A Habib not out 18

*M W Alleyne not out 26

Extras (b8 w1 nb2) 11

Total (for 3, 73.3 overs) 192

Fall: 1-47 2-139 3-150.

To bat: R J Turner, R C Irani, C P Schofield, P J Franks, M K Davies, R J Kirtley.

Bowling: Hasibul 12.3-1-41-1; Bikash Ranjan 5-1-25-0; Rahman 4-0-18-0; Enamul 29-14-34-0; Shabbir 9-2-33-0; Habibul 13-3-26-2; Al Shahriar 1- 0-7-0.

BANGLADESH: Shahriar Hossain, Javed Omar, Habibul Bashar, *Aminul Islam, Al Shahriar Rokon, Mushfiqur Rahman, Khaled Mashud, Enamul Hoque, Shabbir Khan, Hasibul Hussain, Bikash Ranjan Das.

Umpires: Syed Mahbub Ullah and Afther Uddin.