CRICKET: Tendulkar gives Kenya baptism of fire

Kenya 199-6 India 203-3 (India win by seven wickets)
Click to follow
The Independent Online
Kenya 199-6 India 203-3 (India win by seven wickets)

Sachin Tendulkar gave Kenya's bowlers a harsh welcome to the World Cup by hitting an unbeaten 127 to ensure a seven-wicket win for India in their opening Group A fixture in Cuttack.

Tendulkar shared an opening stand of 163 with Ajay Jadeja, racing to his first 50 off just 48 balls as India cruised past Kenya's total of 199 for 6 with 8.1 overs to spare.

It was Tendulkar's fifth one-day century to add to the eight he has at Test level and he became only the third Indian after Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar to score a hundred in the World Cup.

Until Tendulkar's arrival, the Kenyans had put up a creditable performance. The top order all made useful contributions, headed by Steve Tikolo, who scored a composed 65 from 80 balls on a slow pitch. Tikolo and captain Maurice Odumbe shared a third-wicket stand of 96 in 19 overs, but both men perished on 161 and India never relinquished control again.

Anil Kumble, selected despite suffering from a virus during the week, finished with 3 for 28 and his slow left-arm partner Venkatapathy Raju took 2 for 24, but the Indian seam attack was very disappointing.

It scarcely mattered on this occasion as Tendulkar and Jadeja sprinted past 50 inside 10 overs.Tendulkar's second 50 occupied a more leisurely 71 balls but he accelerated again, hitting 15 fours and a six in his 134-ball innings.

(India won toss)


D Chudasama c Mongia b Venkatesh Prasad 29

K Otieno c Mongia b Venkatapathy Raju 27

S Tikolo c Kumble b Venkatapathy Raju 65

*M Odumbe st Mongia b Kumble 26

H Modi c Jadeja b Kumble 2

T Odoyo c Prabhakar b Kumble 8

E Odumbe not out 15

Asif Karim not out 6

Extras (b2, lb11, w7, nb1) 21

Total (for 6, 50 overs) 199

Fall: 1-41, 2-65, 3-161, 4-161, 5-165, 6-184.

Did not bat: D Tikolo, M Suji, Rajab Ali.

Bowling: Prabhakar 5-1-19-0; Srinath 10-0-38-0; Venkatesh Prasad 10-0- 41-1; Kumble 10-2-28-3; Venkatapathy Raju 10-2-34-2; Tendulkar 5-0-26- 0.


A D Jadeja c Rajab Ali b Asif Karim 53

S R Tendulkar not out 127

N S Sidhu c Suji b S Tikolo 1

V G Kambli c D Tikolo b M Odumbe 2

N R Mongia not out 8

Extras (b3, w7, nb2) 12

Total (for 3, 41.5 overs) 203

Fall: 1-163, 2-167, 3-182.

Did not bat: *M Azharuddin, M Prabhakar, J Srinath, Venkatesh Prasad, A R Kumble, Venkatapathy Raju.

Bowling: E Odumbe 3-0-18-0; Suji 5-0-20-0; Asif Karim 10-1-27-1; Odoyo 3-0-22-0; Rajab Ali 5-0-25-0; S Tikolo 3-0-26-1; M Odumbe 9.5-1-41-1; D Tikalo 3-0-21-0.

Umpires: D J Shepherd (Eng) and K T Francis (Sri Lanka)