Bopara dropped but fine winter earns Woakes call-up to the one-day squad

Click to follow
The Independent Online

There may be the small matter of the Ashes to be won but there was a harsh reminder yesterday that there is always another tournament down the road.

So England announced their one-day squad for the series of seven one-day internationals which will be played in January and February.

Most of them have long since been sell-outs but they have been invested with their usual quadrennial importance because the World Cup follows immediately afterwards. As usual it means that around eight players, on the road since late October, will be on their knees by April.

The squad was predictable except for the inclusion of newcomer Chris Woakes, who has impressed with the Performance Programme this winter. He has been included because of the injury to Stuart Broad. There is a place too for Chris Tremlett, now firmly back in favour after playing the most recent of his nine one-dayers in June 2008.

Ravi Bopara, who was part of the squad for the win against Pakistan last summer, has been dropped as has the Ashes wicketkeeper Matt Prior, whose limited-overs career may be over. Craig Kieswetter is expected to keep wicket in the two Twenty20 matches that precede the one-day series, with Steve Davies taking over for the longer limited-overs games.

Similarly, Paul Collingwood will be the T20 captain but Andrew Strauss will reassume the role for the 50-over series.

The most predictable name of all was that of Kevin Pietersen, who has been recalled after being dropped from the one-day series late last summer in England. No action is being taken against Pietersen after his conviction for speeding in a hired Lamborghini on the Great Ocean Road near Melbourne on Thursday. He is, however, being reminded of his responsibilities on the Twitter site after one of his tweets criticised the groundsman at the Adelaide Oval last week.

England Squad

For T20 and one-day internationals against Australia in Jan and Feb:

A J Strauss (Middlesex, ODI capt)

P D Collingwood(Durham, T20 capt)

J M Anderson (Lancashire)

I R Bell (Warwickshire)

T T Bresnan (Yorkshire)

S M Davies (Surrey, ODI wkt)

E J G Morgan (Middlesex)

C Kieswetter (Somerset, T20 wkt)

K P Pietersen (Surrey)

A Shahzad (Yorkshire)

G P Swann (Nottinghamsire)

J C Tredwell (Kent)

C T Tremlett (Surrey)

I J L Trott (Warwickshire)

C M Woakes (Warwickshire)

L J Wright (Sussex)

M H Yardy (Sussex)