Clarke sets sights on series win after Sachin scalp


Click to follow
The Independent Online

The Australia captain, Michael Clarke, urged his team-mates to celebrate their resounding victory over India in the second Test – but insisted they will not be satisfied until they clinch the four-match series.

The hosts produced the most polished performance of Clarke's brief captaincy reign at the Sydney Cricket Ground, recording an emphatic victory by an innings and 68 runs late on the fourth day. It leaves the hosts two up with two to play ahead of next week's third Test in Perth.

"We want to win the series, simple as that," said Clarke, whose unbeaten 329 formed the backbone of his side's victory. "We want to win every Test match we play and we would love to win this series in Perth."

Clarke had earlier been the unlikely hero with the ball, dismissing Sachin Tendulkar for 80 as his painful search for his hundredth international century goes on. The Little Master got an edge to a Clarke delivery which deflected off the gloves of wicketkeeper Brad Haddin into Michael Hussey's hands.

Tendulkar was dismissed soon after lunch, triggering a mini-collapse, with four wickets tumbling for 15 runs. Some spirited batting from the Indian tailenders extended the second contest beyond the tea break before spinner Ravi Ashwin was caught out for 62, a fifth wicket for Ben Hilfenhaus, to bring a close to India's second innings for 400.

Meanwhile, a superb all-round performance by Jacques Kallis carried South Africa to a series-clinching 10-wicket win over Sri Lanka on the fourth day of the third and final Test at Newlands. Having scored 224 in the South African first innings, Kallis claimed 3 for 35 to end an obdurate Sri Lankan second innings on 342, leaving the hosts with a nominal target of two runs to win, sealing the series 2-1.

Kallis also took four catches to equal the South African record for the most by an outfielder in an innings. South Africa's victory brings to an end a run of four winless series at home dating back to 2008. They were held up by the determined Thilan Samaraweera, who scored a defiant 115 not out.