Cricket World Cup brings old adversaries together again

Click to follow
The Independent Online

As if England and Australia won't have seen enough of each other over the previous two years with back-to-back Ashes tours, the old adversaries have been drawn in the same group for the next World Cup in 2015. They meet in Melbourne on the opening day, 14 February.

New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and two qualifying nations will join them in Pool A of the 14-team competition. Pool B contains defending champions India and big rivals Pakistan, plus South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and a qualifier.

After Australia, England play New Zealand in Wellington six days later, then one of the qualifiers on 23 February in Christchurch – still rebuilding after an earthquake two years ago. England next play Sri Lanka in Wellington on 1 March, before a return to Australia to play Bangladesh on 9 March at Adelaide and the other group qualifier on 13 March at Sydney.

Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Canberra, Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Nelson, Hamilton, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wellington will all host games.

The ICC chief executive, David Richardson, said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game.

"The 2015 tournament will mark 40 years since the first World Cup in 1975 and that history of great contests and heroes helps make the tournament what it is – the most sought-after prize in our increasingly global game."