ECB bars five players from county game

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The ECB has rejected registration applications for five players to play county cricket this season. Wavell Hinds (Derbyshire), Johannes van der Wath (Northamptonshire), Andrew Hall (Northamptonshire), Hamish Marshall (Gloucestershire) and Justin Kemp (Kent) have taken part in, or are scheduled to take part in, the Indian Cricket League which is classed as an unsanctioned event by the Board.

New Zealand fast bowler Shane Bond was subject to similar action by the New Zealand Cricket Board who refused to grant him registration to play for Hampshire. Players involved in the Indian Premier League, the officially recognised Twenty20 competition, will not suffer the same sanctions.