Ganguly puts Shoaib's action back in limelight

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The India captain, Sourav Ganguly, re-ignited the debate over Shoaib Akhtar's bowling action when asked about the Pakistan paceman's style following the second one-day international here on Tuesday.

The India captain, Sourav Ganguly, re-ignited the debate over Shoaib Akhtar's bowling action when asked about the Pakistan paceman's style following the second one-day international here on Tuesday.

The action of Shoaib, who took 3 for 49 in Pakistan's series-levelling 12-run victory, has been under scrutiny after umpires reported him to the International Cricket Council in a tri-series in Australia four years ago.

Asked after the match if he had any doubt about the legality of Shoaib's action, Ganguly said: "What do you think, after watching it on TV? I think we all know the answer, don't we?"

Ganguly's reaction will add heat to his team's first full tour to Pakistan in 14 years.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, the Pakistan captain, was fined 80 per cent of his match fee for a slow over rate in Tuesday's match. The rest of the Pakistan team has been fined 30 per cent of their match fees after Pakistan were judged to be three overs behind schedule on Tuesday.

India will fly Amit Bhandari to Pakistan as replacement for pace bowler Ashish Nehra, who injured his left hand trying to field off his own bowling in the second one-day international.

Pakistan have recalled batsman Taufeeq Umar to their squad for the third one-dayer in Peshawar tomorrow.

* Pakistan will host Zimbabwe for two Tests and five one-day internationals later this year.

Comments