Graeme Swann sorry for swearing in England defeat

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Graeme Swann admits he was in the wrong for swearing in England's World Cup defeat against Bangladesh, but still believes he should not have been fined by the International Cricket Council.

The off-spinner, frustrated at being unable to grip a ball drenched by dew, immediately apologised to umpire Daryl Harper for using bad language.

He was fined 10% of his match fee for the incident in a day-night match he thinks ought never to have taken place if it was inevitable dew would make his and other spinners' jobs impossible.

"I was wrong to swear and lose my temper during England's defeat against Bangladesh and I apologised straightaway to umpire Daryl Harper," he said in his column in today's Sun.

"But I think it was ludicrous to play a day-night match in the World Cup that was so heavily influenced by the dew.

"The ball was so wet it was like trying to bowl with a bar of soap. It felt like playing football with both hands tied behind my back."

Even so, Swann regrets his frustration boiled over. He added: "To be caught swearing by the stump mic was very disappointing.

"I don't condone bad language on the field, especially if it is directed near the umpire. As for his punishment, he added: "I shouldn't be fined at all. When you have venues where the dew is heavy, day-night cricket shouldn't be played there."

England will now almost certainly have to beat West Indies on Thursday in their final Group B match if they are to qualify for the quarter-finals.