Gunn faces new inquiry into her bowling action


Click to follow
The Independent Online

England seam bowler Jenny Gunn has been reported to the International Cricket Council (ICC) on account of her bowling action in the first one-day international against New Zealand.

Both umpires reported England's vice-captain after the game in Lincoln on Wednesday, which England's women won by five wickets. Gunn, who was reported and cleared of an illegal bowling technique in 2009, took two wickets in the game.

The rules state that any bowler cannot bend the delivery arm by more than 15 degrees during the act of releasing the ball.

Clare Connor, head of England women's cricket, said: "Jenny Gunn's bowling action was independently analysed and confirmed as legal by ICC in 2009 and so it is unfortunate for her that its legality has been called into question once again.

"Jenny will continue to be available for selection for the remaining two one-day international matches in New Zealand and will then have the full support of the England and Wales Cricket Board as she undergoes the testing process required by the ICC."

Sri Lanka qualified for the Commonwealth Bank Series final with a thrilling nine-run win over Australia in Melbourne yesterday. The outcome was in the balance for much of the game with the hosts replying to Sri Lanka's 238 all out, an innings which contained a hat-trick for Australia all-rounder Dan Christian.

Australia required 10 off the final over but, from the first ball, David Hussey was caught at long off by Tillakaratne Dilshan off the bowling of Nuwan Kulasekara to send Sri Lanka through to face Australia again in the finals, with India missing out.

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene said: "We were dropping like flies in the field but we didn't let it go."

The best-of-three finals series starts in Brisbane tomorrow.