Home side miss out on nominations

Click to follow

Despite an impressive year for the national side, no Englishman has been included in the long list of nominations for the International Cricket Council's Cricketer of the Year.

England are on a six-match winning streak and drew in South Africa over the winter, having won back the Ashes last summer. Nonetheless, while eight players were named, none came from the England side.

Graeme Swann may have been the most surprising omission, having taken 49 Test wickets at 27.55 and 28 one-day wickets at 23 during the qualification period.

Eight players are named in the running for three awards, but no England player is in consideration for the top honour. Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag from India, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia, and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene feature in the Test, ODI and player of the year categories.

Swann might feel aggrieved not to have joined the 16-strong shortlist for the top gong.

The England off-spinner, ranked at No 3 in the world, is on the Test long-list alongside James Anderson, while their team-mates Eoin Morgan, Steven Finn and Tim Bresnan are all up for the Emerging Player award.

The Ireland batsman Paul Stirling is also in the running for that title, and is joined on the Associate Player of the Year list by his compatriots Trent Johnston and Kevin O'Brien, and Scotland's Richie Berrington and Mudassar Bukhari.

Shortlists for each award will be produced before the ceremony on 6 October in Bengaluru, India.