ICC Champions Trophy: All you need to know

We look at the fixtures, venues and records as the tournament gets underway

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The ICC Champions Trophy commences today after a four-year absence in what may be the last edition of the tournament. England and Wales are the hosts this summer as the top eight members of the ICC contest the often exhilarating ‘Mini World Cup’. 

South Africa go into the tournament as slight favourites despite a warm-up defeat to Pakistan on Monday. However, the hosts led by Alastair Cook, and Australia, winners of the previous two tournaments, may have something to say about that tag.

The 50-over competition manifested into a two group round robin format after originally starting out as a knock-out tournament in 1998. England came closest to winning the trophy in 2004 after losing the final to the West Indies at The Oval by two wickets - still the nearest they’ve come to winning a limited-over competition. Andy Flower’s charges have a great chance this time around, although a group that includes Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and old enemy Australia may be a tricky one to negotiate. The opening stage includes a number of standout matches, including today's opener in Cardiff between India and South Africa, while the 2011 world champions also face geographical rivals Pakistan at Edgbaston next Saturday.

Here we have all you need to know about The Champions Trophy in numbers…



Thu 6 June – India v South Africa (Group B), Sofia Gardens, Cardiff, 10.30

Fri 7 June – Pakistan v West Indies (Group B), The Oval, London, 10.30

Sat 8 June – England v Australia (Group A), Edgbaston, Birmingham, 10.30

Sun 9 June – New Zealand v Sri Lanka (Group A), Sofia Gardens, Cardiff, 10.30

Mon 10 June – Pakistan v South Africa (Group B), Edgbaston, Birmingham, 13.00

Tues 11 June – India v West Indies (Group B), The Oval, London, 10.30

Wed 12 June – Australia v New Zealand (Group A), Edgbaston, Birmingham, 10.30

Thu 13 June – England v Sri Lanka (Group A), The Oval, London, 13.00

Fri 14 June – South Africa v West Indies (Group B), Sofia Gardens, Cardiff, 10.30

Sat 15 June – India v Pakistan (Group B), Edgbaston, Birmingham, 10.30

Sun 16 June – England v New Zealand (Group A), Sofia Gardens, Cardiff, 10.30

Mon 17 June – Australia v Sri Lanka (Group A), The Oval, London, 13.00

Weds 19 June – 1 Semi Final (A1 v B2), The Oval, London, 10.30

Thu 20 June – 2 Semi Final (A2 v B1), Sofia Gardens, Cardiff, 10.30

Sun 23 June – Final, Edgbaston, Birmingham, 10.30

All games to be shown on Sky Sports


Previous Hosts/ (Winners)…

1998 Bangladesh (South Africa)

2000 Kenya (New Zealand)

2002 Sri Lanka (Shared by India and Sri Lanka after no result)

2004 England (West Indies)

2006 India (Australia)

2009 South Africa (Australia)



To win the tournament:

South Africa 4/1

England / Australia 5/1

India 7/1

Sri Lanka / Pakistan 8/1

West Indies 9/1

New Zealand 12/1


Top runscorer:

Hashim Amla 8/1

Virat Kohli / Chris Gayle / Alastair Cook 10/1

Shane Watson 12/1


Top wicket-taker:

Mitchell Starc 10/1

James Anderson / Lasith Malinga / Morne Morkel 12/1


England results…

1998 Quarter Finals

2000 Quarter Finals

2002 Group stage

2004 Runners-up

2006 Group stage

2009 Semi Finals


Champions Trophy records…

Leading runs scorer: Chris Gayle, West Indies, 695 (14 matches)

Highest individual score: Nathan Astle, Australia, 145* (151 balls)

Leading wicket-taker: Sourav Ganguly, India, 24 wickets (13 matches)

Best bowling figures: Farveez Maharoof, Sri Lanka, 6/14