ICC World Twenty20 2014: England to face New Zealand in Bangladesh T20 opener


Click to follow
The Independent Online

England will begin their ICC World T20 campaign against New Zealand in Bangladesh next year.

Ashley Giles’s side go straight into the second phase of the tournament, which takes place between 16 March and 6 April, and are also grouped with Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier. West Indies begin the defence of their title against India.

England’s women open their T20 campaign against West Indies, who beat them in Saturday’s Tri-Series final. Stefanie Taylor condemned England to defeat as the Windies won by eight wickets in Bridgetown. Taylor gave nothing away as she took one for eight in her four overs as England struggled to 115 for five. Natalie Sciver top scored with 36.

Taylor then contributed an unbeaten 51 as the Windies chased down their target with 19 balls to spare. Deandra Dottin was not out for 46 in an unbroken partnership of 78 with Taylor.

Usman Khawaja has pressed his claims for a place in Australia’s team for the Ashes with a century for Queensland in the final of the  domestic one-day cup.

Khawaja’s dominant 104 came from 100 balls in Queensland’s five-wicket win over New South Wales. Khawaja’s century followed half centuries in four of his six previous  one-day innings.

New South Wales opener David Warner, who came into the match with three centuries in his last four innings, was out for 14.

South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn will be rested for the first two one-day internationals against Pakistan while former Proteas coach Gary Kirsten will join the team as batting mentor for the five-match series, which begins in Sharjah on Wednesday.

World T20 groups

Men’s Groups:

Group 1: Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Qualifier.

Group 2: West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Qualifier.

Women’s Groups:

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland.Group B: England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.