Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson and Graeme Swann rested for ODI series against Australia

The trio need a break says England head coach Andy Flower

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Kevin Pietersen, Jimmy Anderson and Graeme Swann will all be rested for the one-day and Twenty 20 series against Australia which will follow the Ashes.

“They’re all in their thirties now and we have got to look after their bodies a little,” said Andy Flower, the England coach. “We can’t play these guys all the time otherwise, physically, they would break down.”

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (capt), Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Steve Finn, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Tredwell.

Twenty20 squad: Broad (capt), Bopara, Bresnan, Briggs, Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Finn, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Morgan, Rankin, Root, Stokes, Tredwell, Luke Wright.