Solanki's chance as injury ends Pietersen's tour

A depleted England will take on a rejuvenated and strengthened Pakistan in the remaining three matches of the one-day series following Kevin Pietersen's withdrawal from the squad. Pietersen aggravated an old rib injury during an England training session on Friday and played in pain during the two one-day matches in Lahore.

During each innings Pietersen clutched his side on several occasions and while fielding on Monday he was reduced to throwing the ball into the keeper underarm. He has been advised by England's medical staff to rest for four to six weeks, and last night followed the route of Michael Vaughan and Ashley Giles by returning home.

Initially, it was believed that Pietersen, in an attempt to get through the remaining games of the five match series - which stands at 1-1 - would have a cortisone injection to alleviate the pain. Yet this course of treatment was, apparently, abandoned late on Monday evening when his discomfort increased. England will not call up a replacement even though Pietersen's departure leaves the tourists with only a 14-man squad from which to select.

"I was looking forward to a strong one-day series," said Pietersen prior to his exit. "I hate missing matches and despite trying to play in the first couple of one-day games the pain was just too great.

"I certainly wouldn't want to let any of my team-mates down due to injury whether it is with the bat or in the field so the only choice left to me is to rest the injury with a view to a full recovery in time for India."

Dr Peter Gregory, the England and Wales Cricket Board's chief medical officer, expects Pietersen to have made a full recovery before England leave for India on 13 February.

As England's most explosive batsman limped out of the series Pakistan have the pleasure of welcoming theirs back. Shahid Afridi will replace Danish Kaneria and play in tomorrow's third one-dayer in Karachi after serving a three-match ban for attempting to scuff up the pitch during the Faisalabad Test.

Afridi scored a scintillating 92 and claimed four wickets in the second Test but it is in one-day cricket that he made his name.

As a 16-year-old he posted the fastest one-day hundred in his maiden innings. It is a record he still holds. Afridi took just 40 balls to reach three figures against Sri Lanka in 1996-97 and, with a career strike-rate - runs per 100 balls faced - of over 100, has been terrifying bowling attacks ever since.

Whether Afridi returns to his usual position at the top of the batting order has yet to be confirmed as Pakistan have plenty of talent in this position. Salman Butt, the Test opener, has batted superbly in the opening two games and Kamran Akmal scored a brilliant hundred on Monday.

The loss of Pietersen should give Vikram Solanki the chance to prove that he is not just a super "supersub". Solanki has successfully filled the role for England on two occasions now, scoring a fighting half-century against Australia at the Oval last summer and an unbeaten 39 two days ago.

England lost both matches but without his batting the defeats would have been highly, rather than mildly, embarrassing. Ian Bell is likely to be England's "supersub". Well, it is either Bell, Kabir Ali or Shaun Udal, and teams rarely use a bowler to fulfil the role.

England's preparations for tomorrow's pivotal match will once again be far from ideal. On Monday there were the player appearances on the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year show, and here it will be a late arrival.

The ECB did not want England to play a match in Karachi because of fears of a terrorist attack, and in an attempt to minimise the amount of time that they spend in Pakistan's commercial capital they are scheduled to fly in this afternoon and depart on Friday morning.

England (probable): M E Trescothick (capt), M J Prior, A J Strauss, V S Solanki, A Flintoff, P D Collingwood, G O Jones (wkt), I D Blackwell, L E Plunkett, S J Harmison, J M Anderson. Supersub: I D Bell.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar. Supersub: Arshad Khan.

Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Caption competition
Caption competition
Latest stories from i100
Daily Quiz
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services

Day In a Page

Syria civil war: Meet the military commander who says his soldiers will not rest until every inch of their war torn country is free of Islamist 'terrorists'

‘We won’t stop until Syria is back to normal’

Near the front lines with Islamist-controlled towns where Assad’s troops were besieged just last month, Robert Fisk meets a commander confidently preparing his soldiers for battle
The inside story of how Bill Clinton built a $2bn global foundation may undermine Hillary's chances

The inside story of how Bill Clinton built a $2bn global foundation...

... and how it may undermine Hillary's chances in 2016
12 best olive oils

Extra-virgin, cold-press, early-harvest, ultra-premium: 12 best olive oils

Choosing an olive oil is a surprising minefield. Save yourself the hassle with our handy guide
Rafa Benitez Real Madrid unveiling: New manager full of emotion at Bernabeu homecoming

Benitez full of emotion at Bernabeu homecoming

There were tears in the former Liverpool manager’s eyes as he was unveiled as Real Madrid coach. But the Spaniard knows he must make tough decisions if he is to succeed
Sepp Blatter resignation: The beginning of Fifa's long road to reform?

Does Blatter's departure mean Fifa will automatically clean up its act?

Don't bet on it, says Tom Peck
Charles Kennedy: The baby of the House who grew into a Lib Dem giant

The baby of the House who grew into a Lib Dem giant

Charles Kennedy was consistently a man of the centre-left, dedicated to social justice, but was also a champion of liberty and an opponent of the nanny-state, says Baroness Williams
Syria civil war: The harrowing testament of a five-year-old victim of this endless conflict

The harrowing testament of a five-year-old victim of Syria's endless civil war

Sahar Qanbar lost her mother and brother as civilians and government soldiers fought side by side after being surrounded by brutal Islamist fighters. Robert Fisk visited her
The future of songwriting: How streaming is changing everything we know about making music

The future of songwriting

How streaming is changing everything we know about making music
William Shemin and Henry Johnson: Jewish and black soldiers receive World War I Medal of Honor amid claims of discrimination

Recognition at long last

Jewish and black soldiers who fought in WWI finally receive medals after claims of discrimination
Beating obesity: The new pacemaker which helps over-eaters

Beating obesity

The new pacemaker which helps over-eaters
9 best women's festival waterproofs

Ready for rain: 9 best women's festival waterproofs

These are the macs to keep your denim dry and your hair frizz-free(ish)
Cycling World Hour Record: Nervous Sir Bradley Wiggins ready for pain as he prepares to go distance

Wiggins worried

Nervous Sir Bradley ready for pain as he prepares to attempt cycling's World Hour Record
Liverpool close in on Milner signing

Liverpool close in on Milner signing

Reds baulk at Christian Benteke £32.5m release clause
On your feet! Spending at least two hours a day standing reduces the risk of heart attacks, cancer and diabetes, according to new research

On your feet!

Spending half the day standing 'reduces risk of heart attacks and cancer'
With scores of surgeries closing, what hope is there for the David Cameron's promise of 5,000 more GPs and a 24/7 NHS?

The big NHS question

Why are there so few new GPs when so many want to study medicine?