South Africa clinches test series

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Left-arm spinner Nicky Boje bowled South Africa to an innings victory against India to clinch the two-test series 2-0.

Left-arm spinner Nicky Boje bowled South Africa to an innings victory against India to clinch the two-test series 2-0.

India, after a recent 3-0 whitewash at the hands of Aussies in Australia, suffered the ignominy of losing the first series at home after a gap of 13 years.

Boje captured five wickets for 83 runs and spun webs around the Indian batsmen on a spinning wicket. He had captured two wickets for 10 runs in India's first innings.

A defiant century by former skipper Mohammed Azharuddin on his comeback trail was the saving grace for India.

Resuming at the overnight score of 196 for 5, India was bowled out for 250 runs in just over an hour on the fifth and final day, losing by an innings and 71 runs.

South Africa had amassed 479 runs after dismissing India for 158 runs in the first innings.

Sachin Tendulkar, who stepped down as India's captain, blamed the inability of his side to play as a team and a poor performance by the batsmen for the test series rout.

"In contrast, a team approach spelt success for South Africa," Tendulkar said after the match.

South African skipper Hansie Cronje described his team's sweep over India as one of the most satisfying feelings of his career.

"This is probably one of the most satisfying feelings, not only for myself as captain but also for the team," said Cronje, who has led South Africa to three consecutive Test series wins.

Indian coach Kapil Dev said it would be difficult for India to bounce back in the five one-day internationals which would follow the test series.

Boje was declared man of the match and all-rounder Jacques Kallis adjudged the man of the series. India had lost the first test at Bombay last month.

Left-handed batsman Saurav Ganguly will succeed Tendulkar as India's new skipper.



1st innings 158 South Africa 1st innings 479

India Second Innings

Rahul Dravid c Shaun Pollock b Nicky Boje 18 Wasim Jaffer c Jacques Kallis b Nicky Boje 23 Saurav Ganguly lbw b Nicky Boje 13 Sachin Tendulkar c Herschelle Gibbs b Alan Donald 20 Mohammad Azharuddin c Gary Kirsten b Shaun Pollock 102 Mohammad Kaif lbw b Jacques Kallis 23 Anil Kumble lbw b Nicky Boje 28 Nikhil Chopra c Boucher b Donald 3 Murali Kartik c Gibbs b Donald 2

Javagal Sri of wickets: 1-47, 2-48, 3-71, 4-95, 5-144, 6-240, 7-244, 8-246, 9-250.

South African bowling: Allan Donald 14-5-56-2, Shaun Pollock 24-14-40-1, Mornantau Hayward 16-4-31-0, Nicky Boje 38-14-83-5, Hansie Cronje 3-0-17-0, Jacques Kallis 6-3-10-1.