Steven Finn, Chris Jordan and Moeen Ali given England contracts


Click to follow
The Independent Online

The upheaval in England’s team was reflected in the central contracts for next year. Six players have been awarded contracts for the first time – including Steven Finn, Chris Jordan and Moeen Ali – while five are no longer part of the selectors’ plans because of retirement, dismissal or form.

There appears to be an element of risk in the awards to some players who have yet to secure their place in either the Test or limited-overs sides, but the selectors have clearly decided to back their judgement. James Whitaker, the chairman of selectors said: “We have been hugely encouraged by the rapid development of a host of young players in the past year.”

None of the six has yet played 10 Test matches, four played for the first time this summer. The newcomers to the list are: Ali, Gary Ballance, Jos Buttler, Jordan, Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes. Perhaps the most surprising inclusion was  Finn, who has retained a contract despite not playing any Test cricket since July  last year.

Five players have also been awarded increment contracts, usually the category for those who play only one form of the game. The five who are no longer centrally contracted are: Tim Bresnan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott.

Central contracts: 

M M Ali Worcestershire

J M Anderson Lancashire

G S Ballance Yorkshire

I R Bell Warwickshire

S C J Broad Nott’hamshire

J C Buttler Lancashire

A N Cook Essex

S T Finn Middlesex

C J Jordan Sussex

J E Root Yorkshire

B A Stokes Durham

C R Woakes Warwickshire

Increment contracts:

R S Bopara Essex, A D Hales Nottinghamshire, E J G Morgan Middlesex, L E Plunkett Yorkshire, J C Tredwell Kent