Women's Ashes 2015: When is it on, what is the format, where can I watch it?

Everything you need to know about the seven-match multi-format series between England and Australia

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The Women's Ashes is expected to reach new heights this summer as England and Australia clash in seven matches in a multi-format series.

England captain Charlotte Edwards said: "The 2015 Women's Ashes is possibly the most eagerly anticipated series that I have ever been involved with during my international playing career

"The excitement throughout the England squad is tangible - we have been preparing hard for this for a long time now, and everyone is ready for the action to get under way.

"This summer we hope that more fans than ever before will come to watch us play. The seven-match multi-format series - involving for the first time ever, two fully professional international women's teams - gives us the perfect platform to inspire women and girls everywhere to love and play cricket.

"Australia are currently ICC Women's World Cup and ICC World T20 champions, but we have won the Women's Ashes back-to-back in 2013 and 2014, so the series is sure to be closely contested, and we will be doing everything we can to make it three in a row."

Here, we bring you all the key information...


July 21: ODI, The County Ground, Taunton

July 23: ODI, Bristol County Ground, Bristol

July 26: ODI, New Road, Worcester

August 11-14: Test, The Spitfire Ground, Canterbury

August 26: Twenty20, The Essex County Ground, Chelmsford

August 28: Twenty20, The County Ground, Hove

August 31: Twenty20, SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff


Whilst the men's Ashes series is the best of five Tests, the women's Ashes is split across three formats of the game. ODI matches are worth 2 points to the victor, and 1 point each in the event of a draw. The Test is worth 4 points, or 2 points for a draw. Meanwhile, the Twenty20 matches are worth 2 points each. The team with the most points at the end of the seven-match series will be the victor.


Since the first Women's Ashes series in 1934-35, the sides have met 20 times in different guises. Australia lead the way with seven wins to England's six. The 2015 series will be the third time that the Women’s Ashes have been contested across all three formats of the game. England are looking to make it a hat-trick of successful campaigns against the reigning 50 and 20-over world champions.


Sky Sports are showing all seven matches live. There will also be BBC radio commentary.