Cycling: Kelly keeps kilometre title

Click to follow
Australia's Shane Kelly won his third successive kilometre time trial world title in Perth, Australia yesterday.

The Australian, who had been troubled by a niggling back injury in the build-up to the championships, clocked 1min 3.156sec to beat the German pair, Soren Lausberg and Stefan Nimke.

France's Frederic Magne won a typically contentious keirin taking gold ahead of South Africa's Jean-Pierre Van Zyl and the American three-times world champion, Marty Nothstein. Italy's Roberto Chiappa was second across the line and Germany's Jens Fiedler third, but both were demoted for employing illegal tactics.

The Spanish team of Miguel Alzamora and Juan Llaneras won the gold medal in the 50km madison.

It was a miserable day for Britain, with Rob Hayles going out of the individual pursuit in the first round, Peter Jacques falling in the second round of the keirin, Jonathan Clay and Bryan Steel finishing 10th in the madison and Wendy Everson coming last in the women's sprint qualifying round.