Road World Championships 2014: Feuding Chris Froome and Sir Bradley Wiggins in same team for worlds

The event starts on Sunday

Click to follow

Chris Froome and Sir Bradley Wiggins will race in the same team for the first time in a year when GB takes part in the Road World Championships which start in Ponferrada, Spain on Sunday.

The pair, who are rumoured to have a feud dating to the 2012 Tour which Wiggins won, last competed together in this championship a year ago and have not been in the same Team Sky squad since the Tour of Oman in February 2013.

Froome, the 2013 Tour de France winner and runner-up in the Tour of Spain which finished last Sunday, leads a strong nine-man squad which includes Commonwealth Games champion Geraint Thomas, British champion Pete Kennaugh and David Millar, who will be racing for the final time in a Great Britain jersey before retiring at the end of the season.

Also in the squad for the men’s road race on 28 September, the final day of the championships, are Steve Cummings, Luke Rowe, the Yates twins Simon and Adam and Ben Swift.

Wiggins, as expected, is named only for the time trial – in which he was second last year – which takes place on Wednesday, alongside Commonwealth Games champion Alex Dowsett.

Lizzie Armitstead leads the six-rider women’s squad, which also includes two-time junior world champion Lucy Garner. Hannah Barnes, Anna Christian and mountain-bike riders Annie Last and Alice Barnes – Hannah’s sister – complete the line-up .

There is no entrant in the women’s time trial following Emma Pooley’s retirement as it is not believed that anyone has medal potential.