David Ashdown wins national award for sports photography

Click to follow
DAVID ASHDOWN of the Independent has won the portfolio section in the 1993 Sports Photographer of the Year awards. Ashdown also finished second in the sports picture of the year category with his photograph of Chris Bailey colliding with a netcord judge at Wimbledon.

Ross Kinnaird, from the Empics agency, won the overall award as sports photographer of the year. The awards are organised and sponsored by the Sports Council, with financial support from Reebok.

Patrick Barclay, of the Observer, was named sports journalist of the year yesterday in the 1993 British Sports Journalism awards. Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday) was named feature writer of the year and Harry Harris (Daily Mirror) and David Hopps (Guardian) were joint winners in the reporter of the year category. The awards are organised by the Sports Council and the Sports Writers' Association and sponsored by Carlsberg-Tetley.

SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHER OF THE YEAR: Winner: Ross Kinnaird (Empics). Portfolio: David Ashdown (Independent). Highly commended: Tom Jenkins (Guardian), Anton Want (Allsport). Specialist portfolio: Ross Kinnaird (Empics). Highly commended: Tommy Hindley (Professional Sport), Geoff Waugh (freelance). Sports picture of the year: Michael Steele (freelance). Special highly commended: David Ashdown (Independent). Highly commended: Bob Thomas (Allsport), Clive Brunskill (Allsport). Sport For All picture of the year: Dave Stewart (freelance). Highly commended: Ian Rutherford (The Scotsman), Andrew Sole (freelance). David Worthy memorial award: Michael Steele (freelance).

BRITISH SPORTS JOURNALISM AWARDS: Sports journalist of the year: Patrick Barclay (Observer). Feature writer: Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday). Highly commended: Michael Parkinson (Daily Telegraph). Reporter (joint winners): Harry Harris (Daily Mirror), David Hopps (Guardian). Regional: Mike Amos (Northern Echo). Highly commended: Simon Turnbull (Northern Echo), Brian McNally (Sunday Sun). Best newcomer: Matt Dickinson (Daily Express). Highly commended: Amanda Kendall (Morning Star), Neil Perrett (Evening Echo, Bournemouth). Magazine sports writer: Derek Lawrenson (The Golfer). Highly commended: Ian Stafford (freelance). Local weekly category: Reg Little (Oxford Times). Highly commended: Peter Markie (Sheffield Telegraph).

(Photograph omitted)