Click to follow
At half-time two representatives of the English Football Supporters' Association handed out mementoes to six Irish youngsters and broadcast a message offering "deepest regrets" for the hooliganism which aborted last month's friendly international with England. They asked the people of the Republic to recognise that the perpetrators of the violence do not represent "millions of decent fans".

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND (4-4-2): A Kelly (Sheffield United); G Kelly (Leeds), McGrath (Aston Villa), Babb (Liverpool), Irwin; Keane (Manchester United), Sheridan (Sheffield Wednesday), Townsend, Staunton (Aston Villa); D Kelly (Wolves), Quinn (Manchester City). Substitutes: McAteer (Bolton), for D Kelly, 74; Cascarino (Marseille) for Quinn, 82).

NORTHERN IRELAND (4-1-4-1): Fettes (Hull); Patterson (Crystal Palace), McDonald (QPR), Taggart (Barnsley), Worthington (Leeds); Hill (Leicester); Gillespie (Newcastle), Magilton (Southampton), Morrow (Arsenal), Hughes (West Ham); Dowie (Crystal Palace).

Referee: M van der Ende (Netherlands).