EQUESTRIANISM: Moore picks up Collins Trophy

Click to follow
The Independent Online
OWEN MOORE'S pleasure in a highly successful season was severely dented when he had to miss the World Equestrian Games earlier this month.

It was nevertheless satisfying for him to receive the Tony Collins Memorial Trophy - which is awarded to the leading rider on points gained throughout the year - during yesterday's British Horse Trials Association AGM and Conference.

Moore, who campaigns from Mark Todd's former yard which is located close to Stow-on-the-Wold, had hoped to ride Lightfoot at the World Games until the grey gelding banged a tendon during the final trial at Henbury.

Having been the reserve for the 1992 Olympic games with Locomotion, this was the second time that Moore had found himself within sight of a coveted place for a major championship.

"Lightfoot had done absolutely everything that was asked of him," Moore explained yesterday.

"He jumped a distinctly slow clear round at Badminton, which is just what the selectors wanted him to do, then he went on to win advanced classes at both Belton and Brightling before finishing fourth at Henbury."

Because of the injury, Lightfoot will now have a long rest, missing all of next year's big events as well as the World Games.

Vere and Polly Phillipps' Coral Cove, who finished a fairly creditable seventh and best of the British bronze medal team at the World Games, was the leading horse of the year - for which achievement his joint owners received the Calcutta Light Horse Trophy yesterday.

The chestnut, who is now out in the fields for his winter holiday, is due to be Polly's mount once again at Badminton next May.

The BHTA, which was formed as a limited company at the start of 1997 after leaving the umbrella of the British Horse Society, is anticipating a modest surplus of pounds 11,000 on a turnover of more than pounds 1.5 million this year.

A reserve fund of pounds 200,000 is due to be created through a one-off levy of pounds 30 on next year's subscriptions.

BRITISH HORSE TRIALS ASSOCIATION AWARDS: Tony Collings Memorial Trophy (leading rider on points): O Moore. Calcutta Light Horse Trophy (leading horse): Coral Cove, ridden by P Phillipps. Edy Goldman Trophy (leading rider under 21): L Wiegersma. Martin Whiteley Trophy (leading rider not entitled to wear Union Jack badge): J Tulloch. Sir John Burder Trophy (highest placed Briton in Young Riders European Championships): N Roncoroni. Hubert Allfrey Trophy (highest placed Briton in Junior European championships): E Chandler. Horse Trials Support Group scholarship: M Owen.