Europe's Ryder Cup team win Golf Writers' Trophy for 1995

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Europe's winning Ryder Cup team are the winners of the Writers' Trophy for 1995. Despite Annika Sorenstam's unique feat of topping both the United States and European money lists, Colin Montgomerie's Order of Merit hat-trick and Britain and Ireland's regaining of the Walker Cup, Bernard Gallacher's side collected nearly 70 per cent of the votes.

DAIKYO OPEN (Onnason, Japan) Leading first-round scores (Japan unless stated): 66 T Sugihara, H Hamano. 67 B Watts (US), N Serizawa, H Meshiai, T Nakamura.

WESTERN VIETNAM OPEN (Ho Chi Minh City) Leading first-round scores: 66 C Devers (US), J Senior (Aus); 67 Lin Keng-chi (Taiwan); 68 D Boulet (HK).