Farrell picks up the top award

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Rugby League

Wigan's captain, Andy Farrell, who will lead Great Britain on tour this autumn, has earned the top individual award of the season as the Stones Man of Steel.

Farrell received his award at the annual dinner in Manchester last night, while three representatives of St Helens, Wigan's opponents in the Premiership final this Sunday, also collected accolades.

Bobbie Goulding was voted Fans' Player of the Year, Keiron Cunningham, Young Player of the Year, and Shaun McRae, Coach of the Year, after guiding Saints to a Challenge Cup and Championship double in his first season in charge.

Robbie Paul of the Bradford Bulls is the Stones Super League Player of the Year, based on the votes of his fellow professionals, with Nathan McAvoy of Salford and Hull KR's Papua New Guinean scrum-half, Stanley Gene, winning the equivalent awards for the First and Second Divisions.

The Bradford hooker, James Lowes, and St Helens' centre, Alan Hunte, have been called up as the first two reinforcements for Great Britain's tour of the southern hemisphere, which begins later this month.

Lowes and Hunte are direct replacements for Lee Jackson and Gary Connolly, both of whom are being prevented from touring by their contracts with the Australian .