Football: Bull has the last word

Click to follow
Sheffield United 2 Wolverhampton Wanderers 3

If Wolves were going pep up their challenge for promotion to the Premiership, one particular man would inevitably have to play a major role. Steve Bull scored the winning goal two minutes from time at Bramall Lane last night as Wolves beat the Nationwide First Division's second-placed side and moved up into fourth place themselves.

Wolves, desperate to bounce back from last week's comprehensive 3-0 defeat away to the leaders, Bolton, looked as if they would have to settle for a point when David White headed his second eqaliser of the night from a long throw by Roger Nilsen with only eight minutes remaining.

But with time running out, Bull chased a long ball by Adrian Williams, drew Alan Kelly out of the Sheffield United goal and slipped the ball past him from 15 yards.

Wolves had looked the better team in the opening half. They went ahead in the 19th minute when Simon Osborn crossed to the near post for Mark Atkins to plant a stooping header past Kelly. Although White levelled the score in the 24th minute, glancing in a close-range header from Mitch Ward's cross, only 60 seconds later Wolves were back in front when Osborn curled a free-kick beyond Kelly's reach into the top left-hand corner.

Sheffield United stepped up a gear after the interval and almost equalised in the 49th minute when the Belarus international Peter Kachuro hit the ball across the face of goal, but no one could provide the finishing touch. It was cleared to Don Hutchison, whose stinging drive from 25 yards was tipped over by Mark Stowell. The Welsh international Gareth Taylor wasted a chance when heading a Ward cross over the top.

Bad news for Wolves yesterday was the loss of their centreback Dean Richards for two months after knee surgery.

Sheffield United: Kelly; Ward (Beard 74), Sandford, Hutchison, Nilsen, Holdsworth, White, Spackman (Walker 74), Taylor, Kachuro, Patterson. Substitute not used: Tracey (gk).

Wolverhampton Wanderers: Stowell; Thompson, Froggatt, Atkins, Williams, Curle, Corica, Emblen, Bull, Goodman, Osborn. Substitutes not used: Roberts, Venus, Ferguson.

Referee: K M Lynch (Knaresborough).