Football / European Championship: Poacher Coyne pounces

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Republic of Ireland. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4

Liechtenstein. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0

THE Republic of Ireland rolled over Liechtenstein at Lansdowne Road last night but the expected deluge of goals against international novices did not materialise, despite Tommy Coyne's two in the first four minutes.

Niall Quinn added a third on the half-hour and Coyne was twice denied a hat-trick by the woodwork, which stopped his headers. However, Irish hopes of equalling their biggest win in international football, which came with an 8-0 thrashing of Malta nine years ago, fizzled out in the second half.

It was not until Quinn added his own second goal eight minutes from time after his strike partner Coyne plundered the ball from a hesitant defender to set up the chance, that the Republic equalled the 4-0 win they registered against Latvia in World Cup qualifying two years ago.

Coyne showed just why he is in such prolific form for Motherwell with a pair of poacher's goals. In the second minute he headed home the rebound after Steve Staunton's free-kick was blocked by the keeper Martin Heeb.

Dublin's first floodlit international looked like turning into an extravaganza when Coyne struck again just two minutes later, heading against the bar from Quinn's cross and getting up again to stab the ball home when Eddie McGoldrick returned it from beyond the far post.

Liechtenstein, playing only their sixth international, piled up the yellow cards as they fought to stem the tide, four players being booked for a variety of offences.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Bonner (Celtic); Kelly (Leeds), Irwin (Man United), Kernaghan (Man City), Babb (Liverpool), McAteer (Bolton), McGoldrick (Arsenal), Coyne (Motherwell), Quinn (Man City), Sheridan (Sheff Wed), Staunton (Aston Villa). Substitute: McLoughlin (Portsmouth) for Irwin, 47.

LIECHTENSTEIN: Heeb (Schaan); Hefti (Vaduz), Ritter (Vaduz), Ospelt (Vaduz), Moser (Eschen-Mauren), Telser (Balzers), Hanselmann (Balzers), Zech (Vaduz), Frick (St Gallen), Haas (Balzers), Heidegger (Eschen-Mauren).

Referee: B Berimann (Iceland).