Click to follow
The Independent Online
1930 Hosts: Uruguay Winners

The first World Cup went the way of the host nation, who beat their South American rivals, Argentina, 4-2, in the final.

1934 Hosts: Italy Winners

The trend of home advantage continued four years later in Rome, where Italy beat Czechoslovakia 2-1 in the final thanks to two late goals which came in the last nine minutes.

1938 Hosts: France Quarter-finalists

France could not make it a hat-trick of home nation successes and lost 3-1 to Italy in the quarter-final. Italy retained their title by beating Hungary 4-2 in the final.

1950 Hosts: Brazil Runners-up

Brazil managed to get as far as the final but were beaten 2-1 by their South American rivals, and the underdogs, Uruguay, in the final.

1954 Hosts: Switzerland Quarter-finalists

Switzerland reached the quarter-finals before losing to their neighbours, Austria, in an epic 7-5 encounter. The title went to another neighbour, West Germany, who beat Hungary 3-2 in the final.

1958 Hosts: Sweden Runners-up

Sweden reached the final on home turf, but faced a Brazil side complete with World Cup debutant, Pele. The Swedes lost 5-2, with Pele and current Brazil coach Mario Zagallo among the scorers.

1962 Hosts: Chile Semi-finalists

Chile reached the semi-final, and went down 4-2 to Brazil. The Brazilians beat Czechoslovakia 3-1 in the final.

1966 Hosts: England Winners

The Germans took the lead in the final. The hosts equalised. It went into extra-time, and you know the rest.

1970 Hosts: Mexico Quarter-finalists

Mexico got as far as the quarter-finals, and lost 4-1 to Italy, who then lost in the final, 4-1, to Brazil.

1974 West Germany Winners

The home nation took the title, beating their European neighbours, the Netherlands, 2-1 in the final.

1978 Argentina Winners

The hosts triumphed again, for the third time in four tournaments, beating the Netherlands 3-1.

1982 Spain Second round

Spain fared the worst of any hosts to this point, reaching only the second round. Italy won the title.

1986 Mexico Quarter-finalists

The hosts lost to West Germany on penalties after a 0-0 draw. Argentina beat West Germany for the title.

1990 Italy Semi-finalists

Italy lost to Argentina on penalties in the semi-final and Argentina lost the final 1-0 to West Germany.

1994 USA Second round

The hosts were knocked out 1-0, by the winners, Brazil.